The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Knees on goal line (https://forum.officiating.com/football/16154-knees-goal-line.html)

OverAndBack Wed Oct 27, 2004 09:29pm

Bizarre play today in junior high game. Besides the 80-yard field mentioned in the other thread.

Team A driving towards the goal. They throw a pass to the goal line. A2 is already on his knees at the goal line, with his actual kneecaps in the field of play (not behind the goal line) when he catches the ball.

Player's down right when he establishes possession, right? Ball never broke the plane (that I could see, the play was about 20 yards long and I couldn't get to the goal line in a 2-man game to see).

At first I thought touchdown (I'm a rookie - shoot me) because, quite frankly, I wasn't prepared for that to happen. Referee says no, we're going from right there, a few inches away. Completion, first down and goal, right there (and for good measure, since we had that sloping upward end zone, we moved it out just outside the ten and pretended the 10 was the goal line just for that series). A scored anyway.

But if I ever see that again (God, I hope not), somebody hit me with a ruling so I can look all worldly and wise and stuff.

James Neil Wed Oct 27, 2004 11:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by OverAndBack

But if I ever see that again (God, I hope not), somebody hit me with a ruling so I can look all worldly and wise and stuff.

Try using NF 8-2-1a "It is a touchdown when a runner advances from the field of play so that the ball penetrates the vertical plane of the opponent s goal line".

cowbyfan1 Thu Oct 28, 2004 04:35am

If his knees where just outside the goal line when he caught the ball and he is facing the LOS then common sense would say down just short of the line. This also depends on if the player is leaning back, forward, etc.

mcrowder Thu Oct 28, 2004 08:10am