The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 28, 2004, 07:51am
KWH KWH is offline
Small Business Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Posts: 520
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by Exkalybr
Key words here are "Joint Possession". When both the offense and defense possess the ball at the same time. There actually is NO change of possession. The offense still has the ball. Now if both come down with the ball at the same time and are still on their feet, THEN the defender takes the ball, that is when you have a change of possession and the defense has the ball.
Exkalybr-
You post is incorrect.
It is not possible for the defense to gain control of the fooball on the play you desrcibe. If (as you described above) "both come down with the ball at the same time and still on their feet" The play is immediatly over, the ball becomes (and should be blown) dead, and is awarded to A at that spot. Any action occuring after this point is merely action during a dead ball and (unless a personal foul or usportsmanlike occurs) is ignored!
Please see:
NFHS Rule Book 7-5-4, and,
NFHS Case Book 7.5.4
I hope this helps.
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1