The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 28, 2004, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
I might argue that neither has possession in the air, as it requires landing in bounds to demonstrate possession (remember the whole catch-out-of-bounds-in-the-air and pitch thread?). Until they land, neither has possession.
Ed, I disgaree with you on this, I'm with Mcrowder. Read the definition of possesion, which says a player is in posession when he/she catches it, then read the deifnition of a catch. The requirement is that a player must be touching inbounds.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 28, 2004, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally posted by Snake~eyes
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
I might argue that neither has possession in the air, as it requires landing in bounds to demonstrate possession (remember the whole catch-out-of-bounds-in-the-air and pitch thread?). Until they land, neither has possession.
Ed, I disgaree with you on this, I'm with Mcrowder. Read the definition of possesion, which says a player is in posession when he/she catches it, then read the deifnition of a catch. The requirement is that a player must be touching inbounds.
You are right 2.4.3 Comment and 7.4.3.

Consider this, A1 and B1 jointly control a pass in flight but from the contact land out of bounds.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 28, 2004, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
This is going to be a tough one to sell to the coaches, but if they both had the ball in the air, and the contact forced them out of bounds, you have A's ball - complete pass.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 28, 2004, 07:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally posted by Ed Hickland
Quote:
Originally posted by Snake~eyes
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
I might argue that neither has possession in the air, as it requires landing in bounds to demonstrate possession (remember the whole catch-out-of-bounds-in-the-air and pitch thread?). Until they land, neither has possession.
Ed, I disgaree with you on this, I'm with Mcrowder. Read the definition of possesion, which says a player is in posession when he/she catches it, then read the deifnition of a catch. The requirement is that a player must be touching inbounds.
You are right 2.4.3 Comment and 7.4.3.

Consider this, A1 and B1 jointly control a pass in flight but from the contact land out of bounds.
I agree with that scenario but that is not the one you said.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 02, 2004, 03:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11
Thanks for the clarification, I did not know that a ball in "Joint Posession" immediately becomes dead when both players "possess it". I thought that the A player, not having been downed, and the B player with their hands on the ball fighting over it, A player tries to advance a few more yards and B takes it away from him was legal. I stand corrected.
__________________
Exkalybr
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 02, 2004, 11:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally posted by Snake~eyes
Has anyone ever called joint posession on a catch?
Yep, and A gets the ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1