![]() |
Inadvertent Whistle--Whats the Call
This happened today at my son's football game...
Tie ball game, last play of second half (time expired during this play). On 4th and goal from B's 8 yard line, A throws a pass that is intercepted by B in the endzone. The official immediately blows his whistle and rules a touch back but the defender (B) was never tackled and runs untouched 102 yards for a touchdown. What is the call?? |
Why did he run 102 yards after the whistle ? Flag him for delay of game. IW is ignored if Team accepts the penalty. replay an untimed down from the 3yl.
|
If playing under fed rules you will have the dreaded inadvertent whistle.
B has the opportunity to return the ball out of the endzone. Secondly I am surprised the kids did not stop on the play when the whistle was blown. With the IW on a loose ball play it will give A the chance for one more play to end the half. Untimed down. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
This was an IW on a running play. B (the intercepting team) has the option of replaying the down or taking the result of the play which would be a toucback. If they take the result of the play, the half is over. If there is a flag for delay of game, it would be enforced on the second half kickoff.
|
Quote:
|
Remember, team B would have scored had it not been for the IW?
You will never know if team B would have scored. When the whistle blew, team A players may have stopped. It's not fair to give team B a TD when the whistle may have caused a team A player to stop. IW's are most unfortunate . Also, the team B player should have been stopped by other whistles thereby avoiding a penalty. A gets an untimed down from the 8 |
Quote:
|
Team B was in possesion of the ball during a running play when the IW occured. They have the option of accepting the play at that spot, or of replaying the down. Rule 4-3-3c
A peoriod must be extended with an untimed down when an IW occurs. Rule 3-3-3c Therefore, it would be in Team B's best interest to take the play when the IW occured, which results in a touchback, and the perios is extended by an untimed down. Team B's ball 1-10 at their own 20. |
Quote:
|
I forgot there was a rule change a few years ago. Any time there is an IW, there will be an untimed down, even if the result of the play is taken. B should have had a play from the 20.
|
Quote:
B would likely take the touchback and play an untimed down. [Edited by mikesears on Oct 25th, 2004 at 09:04 AM] |
I would have blown the whistle again, louder, if B's player kept running after the first whistle. DeRock - the ball is NOT live after a whistle is blown. If he didn't stop on the 2nd whistle, I'd have definitely given them a DOG.
But in any case, B has the ball, 1st and 10 at the 20 (or 15 after a DOG), for 1 untimed down. |
Quote:
|
You say the coach knew nothing occurred to cause the play to become dead? Your not serious are you?
Every coach knows that a whistle signals that play is over! How many times have you heard one say that "I teach them to play to the whistle". He does not have to know what the rule is for inadvertent whistle, the officials know and have to explain it to him. For him to instruct his player to continue his run of 102 yards is going to get a delay call regardless of his stupidy or ignorance of a rule. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I can GUARANTEE you that if the kid ran 102 yards after the whistle, there would be a delay of game penalty, regardless of whether its an inadvertant whistle. B ball for an untimed down from its 15. --Rich |
Quote:
|
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Derock2004
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Patton
Quote:
|
Canadian Ruling
Quote:
|
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Derock2004
Quote:
You said you officiated. How long? What level? Have you ever had an IW? |
Personally, if I hear an IW, (usually sounds like someone shot a bird), then I back it up with my own whistle. Sometimes you see the players and they don't know wether to keep going or to stop. So I always back up an IW with my own and stop the play on the spot.
We had one a couple weeks ago in flag, the ball carrier thought his flags were pulled and called TO, so the WH blew his whistle, then the ball carrier realized he still had his flags, so he runs down the sideline for a TD. Guess what? Your ball where the whistle blew. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20pm. |