The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Interception out-of-bounds tossed to another player in-bounds (https://forum.officiating.com/football/16052-interception-out-bounds-tossed-another-player-bounds.html)

Bob M. Mon Oct 25, 2004 06:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snake~eyes
Quote:

Originally posted by BulldogMcC
Still legal unless it is a backward pass he bats forward. (We already determined the 'throw' without possession is just a bat)
You don't have illegal participation?

REPLY: I do...in Federation. In NCAA, I have illegal touching with LOD at the previous spot.

Theisey Mon Oct 25, 2004 07:43pm

Right Bob, 15 yards for NF, no yardage for NCAA.

PSU213 Mon Oct 25, 2004 11:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snake~eyes
Quote:

Originally posted by BulldogMcC
Still legal unless it is a backward pass he bats forward. (We already determined the 'throw' without possession is just a bat)
You don't have illegal participation?

I would say that it is not IP. It would be IP if the A player goes OOB and returns, but jumping in the air does not constitute coming back in bounds. At the same time, the ball is not dead, since the A player is not OOB either. In the air, he is neither OOB nor in bounds (I suppose he is in limbo), since a player does not need to "reestablish" himself to no longer be OOB.

I have last year's rulebook on me, so I hope these rule references are correct: 2-1-3, 2-28-1, and 9-6-1.

BulldogMcC Tue Oct 26, 2004 05:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by Snake~eyes
Quote:

Originally posted by BulldogMcC
Still legal unless it is a backward pass he bats forward. (We already determined the 'throw' without possession is just a bat)
You don't have illegal participation?

No, not unless he lands in bounds or returns inbound during the play. He remains a player during the entire down. Even if he goes out of bounds, the loose ball does not become dead when touching a player unless that player is touching out of bounds. By leaping he has not returned in bounds nor does he make the loose ball dead on contact. Unless you can find me a different rule than 2-30 for player/non-player and 10-6 for illegal participation there is no rule broken. If a receiver steps OOB, leaps , catches the ball and comes down OOB, we don't flag for IP even though he was already OOB, so we cannot in this case either. In both cases the ball is still live while in contact with the airborn player and they are not illegal participating by definition.

mcrowder Tue Oct 26, 2004 08:10am

Also, if the player was forced out, and was in the act of trying to return, you wouldn't have IP or ineligible even if he did come back into the field of play (NCAA).

kdf5 Tue Oct 26, 2004 10:10am

I got this play from the referee.com website's exam. See 9-6-1.

BulldogMcC Wed Oct 27, 2004 04:08am

Does 9.6.1d (from referee .pdf file with quiz) refer to a case book play, because my 2004 casebook has no such play and the ones on the NFHS web site are not numbered that way. I still don't think the rule applies, but I will discuss it with some local rule heads.

kdf5 Wed Oct 27, 2004 07:32am

It would seem that way only the case book only goes to c. The disclaimer says the play was printed before any rule revisions. Do you have last years case book?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1