![]() |
Hey guys
Some friends and I were wondering what the philosophy is behind the fact that you cannot advance a muffed punt...? Why is it that you're allowed to take possession but not advance? Thanks, Eric |
NFHS Rules
You have to understand the difference between a muff and a fumble. A player must have possession before he can fumble. Possession is precluded by touching, and by touching the ball without gaining possession it is a muff.
A kick is a kick, is a kick, is a kick, until R gains possession. Once possession is gained, then, at that instant, the kick play is over. Now it is a running play. If R muffs the kick, they never had possession to begin with. If R catches the kick, and then fumbles, anyone can gain possession and advance. NFHS rule specifically state that K can advance a ball from in or behiond the NZ, because the ball still belongs to them. Once the ball crosses the NZ the ball belongs to R. |
cheifgil, I think he understands the rule. I believe he wants an explanation as to why we have that rule, the philosophy behind it. A question for which I don't have an answer.
|
Thanks
I'm trying to understand why the kicking team can gain possession yet not advance it. It would seem like the two options would be 1) possess/advance or 2) no possession at all.
Why did they create a rule to stop advancement by a team with possession of the ball? Thanks, Eric |
Re: Thanks
Quote:
|
Re: Re: Thanks
Quote:
|
Re: Thanks
double post, sorry.
[Edited by JamesBond on Oct 18th, 2004 at 09:22 AM] |
History
I would really like to read a book of the development of the game and it's rules...
I was thinking maybe this rule about not being allowed to advance a muffed punt could come from rugby, and there is something similar. I was checking the web, and if I understood the 'Law' correctly, when a player tries to catch a kick, and muffs it forward, the play is stopped and a scrum is awarded (no one gains an advantage) Now that is just from my very limited knowledge and 5 minutes of research on the web. Maybe someone here is a rugby ref and can correct me... James |
Re: Re: Thanks
Quote:
My thought is because possession does not change -- the kicking team retains possession, that is, ignoring PSK exception -- and a recovery is an advance by the kicking team ending the down. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21pm. |