The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Out of bounds ? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/15780-out-bounds.html)

Texoma_LJ Thu Oct 07, 2004 06:11pm

Runner for A is doing the tight-rope walk going down the sidelines. As he is about to lose his balance and fall OOB there is the LJ in the coaches box. Runner extends his hand and pushes off the referee to regain his balance. By Rule 2-28-1 should be legal, but Im thinking otherwise.

andy1033 Thu Oct 07, 2004 07:58pm

2-28 art 2 legal

What would you rule if runner running down sideline is touched by a player standing on the sideline.

[Edited by andy1033 on Oct 7th, 2004 at 09:03 PM]

schmitty1973 Fri Oct 08, 2004 12:06am

Maybe illegal participation? The players on the sideline are not part of the field, officials are.

Jim S Fri Oct 08, 2004 02:13am

The same rule, 2-28-2, says that a ball in player possession is OB when the runner touches anything , other than a player or game official, who is on or outside a sideline or endline.
A player is in the same clasification here as a game official.
Second if the player was a different situation it would still not be Illegal Participation since the play would be over because the ball would have gone OB.

SouthGARef Fri Oct 08, 2004 08:45am

That's why the pylon's are 3 yards off the end line. So that if a player is running a route deep in the endzone and kicks a pylon but never touches ground OOB by rule he is OOB. Plus, BJs don't have to trip over them this way :)

Rich Fri Oct 08, 2004 09:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by SouthGARef
That's why the pylon's are 3 yards off the end line. So that if a player is running a route deep in the endzone and kicks a pylon but never touches ground OOB by rule he is OOB. Plus, BJs don't have to trip over them this way :)
This is the first thing I do when walking the field -- move the yard markers back and move the endline pylons back off the endline (except the ones in the corner, of course).

--Rich

Texoma_LJ Fri Oct 08, 2004 09:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by andy1033
2-28 art 2 legal

What would you rule if runner running down sideline is touched by a player standing on the sideline.

[Edited by andy1033 on Oct 7th, 2004 at 09:03 PM]

If the "player" was never on the field of play prior to the snap, he is by definition not a player, but rather a non-player. This then, would make me throw the flag for illegal participation. If the "player" is actually a player by definition, then there is no foul.

jumpmaster Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:55am

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
Quote:

Originally posted by SouthGARef
That's why the pylon's are 3 yards off the end line. So that if a player is running a route deep in the endzone and kicks a pylon but never touches ground OOB by rule he is OOB. Plus, BJs don't have to trip over them this way :)
This is the first thing I do when walking the field -- move the yard markers back and move the endline pylons back off the endline (except the ones in the corner, of course).

--Rich

Worked a game last week with 2 officials with over 40 years experience between them. When I moved the endline pylons back they asked me what I was doing. I told them...and they looked at me like a beagle looking at a ceiling fan. Same week, I had 3 different coaches ask why I was moving the pylons. Of course, I can expect that from coaches...:D

Bob M. Fri Oct 08, 2004 12:53pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by jumpmaster
Quote:

Worked a game last week with 2 officials with over 40 years experience between them. When I moved the endline pylons back they asked me what I was doing.
REPLY: Thank God you didn't need to rule a momentum exception. Sounds like those guys haven't been "in the book" for quite a while!

SouthGARef Fri Oct 08, 2004 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally posted by jumpmaster
Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
Quote:

Originally posted by SouthGARef
That's why the pylon's are 3 yards off the end line. So that if a player is running a route deep in the endzone and kicks a pylon but never touches ground OOB by rule he is OOB. Plus, BJs don't have to trip over them this way :)
This is the first thing I do when walking the field -- move the yard markers back and move the endline pylons back off the endline (except the ones in the corner, of course).

--Rich

Worked a game last week with 2 officials with over 40 years experience between them. When I moved the endline pylons back they asked me what I was doing. I told them...and they looked at me like a beagle looking at a ceiling fan. Same week, I had 3 different coaches ask why I was moving the pylons. Of course, I can expect that from coaches...:D

My crew cheif doesn't allow our BJ to move the pylons. He says he will write up a report and the association secretary will notify them that they need to be 3 yards back.

I think it's splitting hairs, but I just do as I'm told...

Hand Signals Fri Oct 08, 2004 01:05pm

Pardon my ignorance. I'm a rookie at this.....but can you explain to me why you move the pylons off the endline?

SouthGARef Fri Oct 08, 2004 01:08pm

Because somewhere in Rule 1 it says the end line pylons should be 3 yards off the end line. :)

The purpose is that if a player is running a route and kicks the pylon--but never touches the line or ground that is OOB. By 2-28-2, just kicking the pylon makes this player OOB. By moving it back 3 yards, hopefully we won't have this problem.

Bill D Fri Oct 08, 2004 01:17pm

Not to pick nits, but it is 3 feet not yards. Rule 1-2-4.

ABoselli Fri Oct 08, 2004 01:17pm

Plus the BJ won't trip over them either.

SouthGARef Fri Oct 08, 2004 01:18pm

Uh, yea.. 3 feet. ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1