The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   TD, or spot of ball please (https://forum.officiating.com/football/15606-td-spot-ball-please.html)

Jim S Thu Sep 30, 2004 07:55pm

Quote:


So the "extended goal line" would only apply to a runner forced out by a defensive player? Ball went out between the 1 and GL. so you would bring the ball back to the spot where he left the field. Even if the ball hits where the EGL would be and is first to touch the ground.

Thanks

Not exactly. The goal line extended is only in effect for a player who is touching the ground inbounds. There is no requirement for a defender forcing him OB.

SoGARef Thu Sep 30, 2004 09:58pm

ABoselli is correct.

<b>Rule 1-2-4</b> states: ... When properly placed, the goal line pylon is out of bounds at the intersection of the sideline and the goal line extended.

jumpmaster Fri Oct 01, 2004 09:04am

Quote:

Originally posted by sm_bbcoach

airborn: inside= TD; front= just short OOB

Airborne - the act of those fools who fall from an airplane at 700 ft AGL, at 2:00 AM, with 150 lbs of gear strapped to him and some knucklehead shooting at him. Upon hitting the ground he proceeds to express his frustration at the army for putting him there, the air force for flying like $h!+ and the bad guys for disturbing a perfectly peaceful evening.

Is commonly referred to as psycho, crazy or just plain stupid.

Strike Hold!

:D

cowbyfan1 Sat Oct 02, 2004 02:54am

Quote:

Originally posted by kdf5
Has anyone read Case Book 1.2.4? "Ball carrier A10 dives into the pylon at the intersection of the goal line and sidelines. RULING: Touchdown. Assuming the pylon was placed properly, the ball broke the plane of the goal line prior to the touching of the pylon".

Where does this fit into this argument?

With a properly positioned pylon the ball would hit the inside or corner of the pylon. Not the front.

Quote:


So, in # 2, if he first touched a hand on the ground at the 1/2yd line, he hit the ball against the front side of the pylon, it would then be a TD? I understand that touching anything out of bounds causes the ball to be out of bounds, but does that mean that the pylon breaks the goal line extended?

The hand is on the ground and thus the player is not truly airborne. TD in this case.

PSU213 Sun Oct 03, 2004 11:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by cowbyfan1
With a properly positioned pylon the ball would hit the inside or corner of the pylon. Not the front.
I am a little confused on the physics of this. I would not think it is that tough to hit the front of the pylon. Of course if my brain is somewhere else please let me know.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1