The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 22, 2004, 06:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 133
Since A initiated the block B is, in theory, trying to get to the ball carrier. Since he is not necessarily out of the play, rule 9-4-2b doesnt seem to apply in this case. Rule 9-2-3 doesnt seem to add creadance to A's arguement either. The fact the pull was forceful, makes sense, he is trying to get someone out of his way.
Rule 2-3-5 plainly states that the defense may push, pull, or ward off an opponent in an actual attempt to get at the runner. This would seem to allow B to use his hands in this manner, PROVIDED, he is making a legitimate effort to get to the ball carrier. I would also have a real hard time of calling this as there was no advantage gained.
The only way I believe I would throw a flag here is if I thought that B was using unneccesary roughness or the like and has no intention of going after A's runner.
Discretion is the better part of valor.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1