The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 14, 2004, 11:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to jrfath
Working LJ. Center places his hands on the ball, no one is in the NZ prior to the snap taking place (Encroachment).

1) Just prior to the snap the receiver begins his route but doesn't break the NZ before the ball is legally snapped. So there is movement prior to the ball being snapped but no true Encroachment. False Start? Illegal Motion?

2) Same scenario but the receiver DOES break the NZ before the ball is legally snapped. Encroachment still? Or is it Illegal Motion because he was moving prior to the snap as he was anticipating the snap but left early?

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ____________________


If the receiver is off the line of scrimmage (not one of 7 players on the line, and is moving forward at the snap, I tend to flag live ball illegal motion simultaneous with the snap b/c he is moving forward at the snap. Same thing if a fullback or running back gets a head start on the play. If the receiver is on the line, dead ball false start.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1