The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 13, 2004, 07:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by Ed Maeder
Have a question on a situation we had tonight. After a play we had a double personal foul dead ball. There was 24 seconds left in the game both players were ejected. The clock was started on the ready for play and it ran out without a play being run. In the NFHS book in Rule 3-3 Art3 it states that a period must be extended with an untimed down if during the last timed down of the period a penalty is accepted. Are these penalties considered to be during a timed down and did we need to run a play or not?
The key to understanding this is the phrase during the last timed down.

A down begins when the ball is legally snapped or free-kicked and ends when the ball next becomes dead. So in order to have a down in progress, the ball must be snapped. In other words, to have a foul DURING a down, the ball is live by definition.
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1