The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 11, 2004, 07:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 19
Question

In a 7th grade game using NFHS, the coach previewed us on some plays that might be confusing. One was a screen pass that his lineman would go downfield about 4-5 yards before the ball was passed, but his fullback would catch it behind the neutral zone so it wouldn’t be an ineligible receiver downfield. Not being sure, I checked on it quick. All I could find was Table 7-5 #3, Ineligible Receiver Downfield.

It states: Ineligible A players may not advance across the expanded neutral zone before the last pass which crosses the neutral zone is in flight unless touched by B in or behind the neutral zone.

This doesn’t seem to be on point because the coach said the ball would be caught behind the neutral zone, not crossing the neutral zone in flight.

They didn’t run the play, so it was a non-issue.
Can someone please help me out with this, though?

In NFHS, is it an foul ineligible receiver downfield foul on a forward pass that is caught behind the neutral zone as I’ve described in the example above?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 11, 2004, 09:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
No, it's not. If a pass doesn't cross the NZ, you can't have an ineligible downfield foul.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 11, 2004, 10:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 149
You have just described the classic screen pass play! If a receiver catches the pass behind the NZ, ineligible receivers (linemen) may be downfield blocking. If the pass is caught beyond the NZ, the yellow hanky should be flying.
__________________
"I love it when they boo!"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 11, 2004, 11:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
No, it's not. If a pass doesn't cross the NZ, you can't have an ineligible downfield foul.
What he said.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 12, 2004, 01:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 108
The above replies are correct. Many times the ball does cross the NZ so beaware. We have been instructed that the proper technique is, if in question, officials down field throw the flag and the umpire will rule on the pass crossing the LOS or not crossing. If not crossing ; referee waves off the flag.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 13, 2004, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Alexandria, LA
Posts: 175
If the pass is caught behind the NZ, there will be no ruling on pass interference either.

Can the DE come up and knock the receiver down behind the LOS and intercept the ball?
__________________
CW4 Paul Gilmore
Installation Food Advisor
Camp Beauregard
Alexandria, LA
Louisiana NG
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 13, 2004, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Also remember - it's when the pass if first touched. A couple of years ago, we actually had a spirited disagreement amongst the officials when the ball initially hit the RB behind the LOS, but he didn't catch it. It went up and forward, beyond the LOS, where he DID catch it.

The other thing to remember as a newer official is that it is not the INTENT of the offense that matters, but rather where the ball ACTUALLY is caught (first touched). You'll see a screen pass go across the line every once in a while, and flag it - coach will chew your ear off - "THAT WAS A SCREEN PASS!!!" but if it went across the LOS, IT WASN'T a screen pass.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 13, 2004, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 108
To Chiefgil:

NF yes a reciever behind the neutral zone can be hit by B even if the pass to him is in flight( provided that the pass does not cross the NZ). HOWEVER he can't clip him, block in the back, hold him or anything else that is normally deemed illegal. If they hold him, they are charged with a holding foul, if they clip him they are gullty of clippig ETC but not DFI.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 07, 2016, 05:36pm
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJoldguy View Post
To Chiefgil:

NF yes a reciever behind the neutral zone can be hit by B even if the pass to him is in flight( provided that the pass does not cross the NZ). HOWEVER he can't clip him, block in the back, hold him or anything else that is normally deemed illegal. If they hold him, they are charged with a holding foul, if they clip him they are gullty of clippig ETC but not DFI.
One question on this one. My understanding has always been that B can push or pull to get to a loose ball so long as it is not pass interference. Similarly to get to the runner.

Situation #1: Sweep to the right. A20 is running down the field with A80 following closely behind. B50 in pursuit pushes A80 in the back to get to A20. I've always called and seen this called as legal.

Situation #2 (related to the OP): A5 is in the flat, behind the NZ. With the pass in flight, B10 pushes A5 in the back and intercepts the pass. I've seen this happen, and I've not seen it called.

Replace either case with holding, and I still have no foul. Indeed, I fail to see how B can ever be called for holding expect in cases where they pull an A player in an attempt to make a path for another B player (such as on punt of FG block attempts). In every case, B can push or pull to get to the runner or a loose ball.

Finally, as for clipping, I would call this. Since this is a block below the waist, I fail to see how it can be interpreted as an attempt to get to a loose ball or the runner. But it reminds me of a call we had some time ago.

Situation #3: A10 is running up the middle with A79 in front as a lead blocker. B5 dives at the feet of A79. We called an illegal block on B5 (much to the consternation of the crowd and coach).

The only case of contact below the knees I can see is if there is a loose ball at the feet of a player, and in an attempt to recover the loose ball a B player hits an A player. But that's the judgment call. I don't think B is obligated to avoid contact below the knees or from behind if it is an honest attempt to get to a loose ball or runner.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 08, 2016, 11:10am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Quote:
Situation #1: Sweep to the right. A20 is running down the field with A80 following closely behind. B50 in pursuit pushes A80 in the back to get to A20. I've always called and seen this called as legal.
Oops. Going for the runner, contact above the waist.

Last edited by HLin NC; Sat Oct 08, 2016 at 11:16am. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 13, 2004, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
SJOldGuy: How come B can't block that receiver in the back? Take a look at 9.3.5b and tell me if you still disagree. My logic is B can legally touch or catch the pass so I'm thinking that would be legal. Agree?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 13, 2004, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 108
Very interesting ljudge! What I was thinking was (is) that B wasn't trying to intercept the pass.B in my mind on this play was only trying to prevent an offense completion. In that case (official's judgment) you have illegal block in the back. Over the years I have been in many training sessions that supported this call. Never did anyone bring up your point. I have a feeling that you are correct in your applying 9-3-5b if, in the judgment of the covering official, that is the situation. I don't want to accept it in this forum unless I am 100% sure! I suggest we contact our rules intepretor for finally ruling. I am going to be to busy, as usual, with the cadets and their game schedules tonight at the meeting. Can you do it and let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 13, 2004, 08:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
The rules interpreter was in our referee's position meeting all night so I had a chance to ask him. At first he thought block in the back but I brought up this rule (9.3.5b) and his interpretation is exactly what you expected. Since he B can legally touch the ball he can hit the receiver in the back (behind NZ) but if he's not going for the ball he believes a flag should be thrown. So, intent is also the key from his perspective.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 13, 2004, 11:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 108
Thanks Ljudge
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 14, 2004, 11:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 19
Thumbs up Thank you

Thanks to all of you who responded. That helped a ton. You're all great!

Eric
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1