The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2004, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kirkland, Washington
Posts: 422
Send a message via ICQ to Jim S Send a message via AIM to Jim S
We got a ruling from Jerry Diehl on the casebook play 10.4.5 Sit J. that we spent a lot of time discussing.
This is the one that has B1 intercept the ball in the EZ, fumble it, it rolls OB at the 2. Meanwhile B2 has committed a foul at the 9 after the change of possession.
The casebook says to the end of the run is the 2 contradicting another casebook play. Jerry says this is incorrect. The end of the run (and the basic spot) is the spot of the fumble in the EZ. Resulting in a safety. So unless the FED comes up with an exception, this is treated just the same as any other play.
BTW, I understand this play went around the country and there were up to 4 different interpretations.
__________________
Jim Schroeder

Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2004, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
I'm not Fed, but this question raises another. I don't mean to hijack the thread - but I think this applies, at least to understand the logic.

If, in Fed, a ball is intercepted in the endzone, and while that player is running, but still in the endzone, another member of his team blocks in the back or holds in the endzone, do you have a safety? If not - it sounds like your interp is wrong... If so... why?!?! This seems wrong - the reasoning behind making a foul in the endzone on a "normal" play a safety is that the foul potentially prevented an ACTUAL safety. This would not be the case where an interception occurred in the endzone, and such reasoning would not make sense. It seems to me it should be marked off from the 20 (or declined if the runner came out and didn't reach the 10.)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2004, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Fed rules have a specific exception: "When the final result is a touchback," then we penalize from the succeeding spot (i.e. the 20). On the fumble play, since it went back into the field of play, we don't have a touchback anymore, and we're forced to fall back on the general rule, giving us the safety. Whether or not this is "fair," it is the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2004, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
If, in Fed, a ball is intercepted in the endzone, and while that player is running, but still in the endzone, another member of his team blocks in the back or holds in the endzone, do you have a safety?
Yes, you have a safety... If the runner is downed in the end zone, the basic spot is the 20... But the foul by the offense occurred behind the basic spot, so the penalty is enforced from the spot of the foul... Since the spot of the foul is in the EZ, it's a safety...

Yes, it is a bit unfair, but them's the rules... To emphasize the unfairness, consider this play:

1/[email protected] On a draw play, A33 busts off an 85 yard TD run... During the run, the OT and DE end up in A's end zone, where A70 facemasks B58... The result of the play is a TD, the ball was at the B40 when the foul occurred, but the foul is enforced at the spot of the foul, resulting in a safety...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 24, 2004, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 132
Wouldn't force be an issue in this situation? Since B did not put the ball into the endzone, how can you penalize them for intercepting it there? I would think if the penalty is accepted, you'd have a touchback and mark it off from the 20....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 24, 2004, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 13
Since A is responsible for the ball entering the EZ, it becomes a touchback. Since the foul was at the 9, not in the EZ, first and ten at the ten.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 24, 2004, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 45
Rule 8-5.2(c) states, It is a safety when....A player on offense commits a foul for which the penalty is accepted and enforcement is from a spot in his end zone;

It is a loose ball play, the enforcement of the penalty is the end of the run, which is the EZ.

Therefore you have a safety.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1