The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2004, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
If, in Fed, a ball is intercepted in the endzone, and while that player is running, but still in the endzone, another member of his team blocks in the back or holds in the endzone, do you have a safety?
Yes, you have a safety... If the runner is downed in the end zone, the basic spot is the 20... But the foul by the offense occurred behind the basic spot, so the penalty is enforced from the spot of the foul... Since the spot of the foul is in the EZ, it's a safety...

Yes, it is a bit unfair, but them's the rules... To emphasize the unfairness, consider this play:

1/10@A15... On a draw play, A33 busts off an 85 yard TD run... During the run, the OT and DE end up in A's end zone, where A70 facemasks B58... The result of the play is a TD, the ball was at the B40 when the foul occurred, but the foul is enforced at the spot of the foul, resulting in a safety...
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1