Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Aug 31, 2004, 07:17pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to PAT THE REF
Question

Hey Everyone,
My name is Pat from New Jersey. I am a frequent visitor to the Baseball forum and I poke around in the football forum. Ive been reffing recreational baseball for 6 years (i know, I was kinda thrown "into the fire" at age 11), basketball for two, and I wanted to try football. I love football, it is my favorite sport.
I am 17 years old, starting my senior year in high school and have wanted to get involved with officiating football.
My question is, is there any way that I can be able to ref by next season?(2005-2006) I would be starting my freshman year in college and by July 3rd, i will be 18.
Anything would be great, pop-warner or anything.
Ive somewhat collected football ref gear from when my brothers friends asked me to ref their pickup games. (NFL Watch, a few flags, blue & white beanbags, a couple fox40's, etc.... (When he plays tackle football in the snow, in the rain, two-hand touch)
I have most of the gear, ive studied the rulebook (NFHS), ive looked over the popwarner rules, i am following a group of officials to a few scrimmages to see what it feels like for a pre-game, etc....
What is the best way to get involved?
Thank you for your time.
Old Tue Aug 31, 2004, 08:07pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by PAT THE REF
I have most of the gear, ive studied the rulebook (NFHS), ive looked over the popwarner rules, i am following a group of officials to a few scrimmages to see what it feels like for a pre-game, etc....
What is the best way to get involved?
Thank you for your time.
Join and organization and do it. Why sit on the sidelines and piddle around at the margins? Throw yourself into it and take the best games that you can get. The worst you can do is screw up and be blackballed.