The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Aug 23, 2004, 08:34am
Official Forum Member

Talking

I need some opinions on a mechanic I struggle with...walking off penalties.

The Book says never walk off yardage. Is that how all U's approach this task? I ran into some vets last year that step them off, and I realize it may depend on how well the field is marked, but I want to look sharp and professional when I carry myself out there. Any particular methods used that would help?

Particularly when ball is at the 23 1/3 -yd line, and I'm spotting a 15-yd walk off do I get a foot measurement from the nearest hash and do the math from there? I am a college graduate and an engineer, but my nerves sometimes cloud my otherwise pristine mathematical skills

2nd yr. Ump
Old Mon Aug 23, 2004, 09:08am
Official Forum Member

My second year as well, mostly at Ump. I noticed in reading the officials manual this morning (ironically), it directs the ump to not step off the yardage on a well marked field, except to the first and for the final yard line. It does indicate though, to use an arm signal for each yard line crossed (see page 76 in 2004-2005 off. manual). I try to not do the step off except from the yard lines as indicated, but again, as a new official I would appreciate any tips.

Old Mon Aug 23, 2004, 09:35am
Official Forum Member

Jaysef,
If the ball is at the 23 1/3 yd line, I would step off the number of steps to the 25, then go to the 40 and step back that many steps for a 15 yd penalty. It looks pretty sharp and is a lot easier than trying to add and subtract fractions and then apply that to your calibrated stepping (I work with a bunch of engineers, I know how you guys are )..and as always check with your wings to make sure that everyone ends up in the same spot....
Old Mon Aug 23, 2004, 10:41am
Official Forum Member