The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 03, 2004, 11:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 57
Just to throw in a long winded response...

I don't know how much weight you all give to the "Official's Study Guide to NFHS Football Rules 2004 Edition" but they address this specific question and give a couple of examples...

"It is also legal for any player on either team to throw a backward pass any time anywhere on the field (7-2-1). If a player deliberately throws a backward pass out of bounds to conserve time, it is legal and the clock will start on the snap."

Except that I think they meant to cite 7-4-1. Also, 7-5-2 is where intentional grounding and illegally conserving time are defined and notice that they specifically defined as illegal FORWARD passes. There's nothing defined as an illegal BACKWARD pass so A1 didn't do anything illegal to conserve time. Therefore, it's a legal way to stop the clock.

Sorry about that rambling but it's the one rule I know so I had throw it out there!

-Sean---
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1