The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 40
A's ball 1/10 at 50yl. The defense end lines up with his arm and helmet across the LOS vs. linebacker is blitzing and jumps across the LOS just prior to the snap. Is this a dead ball foul for both ? Do you whistle both at the snap or would you whistle the DE at the ready or prior to the snap?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 10:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
NFHS both are dead balls and killed when they occur
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2004, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: Technically, the defense is restricted from being in the NZ to give defensive signals once the ready-for-play is blown. Likewise, he's also not allowed to touch the ball or an opponent.(NF 7-1-5) And he's further restricted from being in the NZ for any reason whatsoever once the snapper places his hand(s) on the ball. (NF 7-1-6)

From a pragmatic view though, if you see a defender lined up so that he's encroaching on the NZ, and it's before A has come to the line, a simple "watch where you line up" yelled down the line by a wing man should suffice. But most of the time, B doesn't set up till after A is set. In such a case, if B clearly sets up in the NZ, you probably have no choice but to flag it.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2004, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
I usually don't call encroachment until the snap. If the defender is in the NZ and he moves out then I'm letting it go. But if while hes moving out A jumps then I've got encroachment against B.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2004, 05:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally posted by Snake~eyes
I usually don't call encroachment until the snap. If the defender is in the NZ and he moves out then I'm letting it go. But if while hes moving out A jumps then I've got encroachment against B.

Good point, I try to use the same judgement.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2004, 07:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 40
Thanks for the replies. This past season I was working the wing. The entire defense of line was dug in real close to the NZ on the games first offensive play. A veteran coach with a reputation for working the officials was behind me. ( I was asked to work his side because of my exceptional patience and communication skills Anyway, I hate starting a game with a flag but sometimes it's what must be done. The offense comes to the line and the center quickly moves the ball forward a full yard and snaps it. Wow,did that get my attention. Q-back sneak and no gain on the play. No flag from me the stunned HL. I ran in for the spot and informed the U and R to remind the linemen to line up onsides and the center to not move the ball forward in a loud enough voice that the players on both teams could hear me. No problem the rest of the game from the players but the coach thought the opening play the defense was offsides ( encroachment is not in his vocabulary ) My lesson learned was to be ready for anything on every play. Do you think I handled that correctly ?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2004, 08:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
I guess, I personally would have started it up with a flag. You want to end this stuff early because you don't want to have to be calling it(or ignoring it) towards the end of the half/game. Get on it early. Depending on the agegroup and how offsides they were I might have done what you did. If this was HS I would have hit it with a flag but thats just me.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2004, 09:15pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I had the situation also, where the defense was just barely inside the NZ. I immediately blew it dead, and threw the flag up. (By the way, it was a freshman or reserve game, can't remember which). My white hat told me during the ensuing timeout, next time, just wait till the snap, give the kid a chance to crawl back. I did that, and lo and behold, kid actually knew how to crawl backwards. Next problem after that??? The offensive line was lined up in the NZ, with one lined up on the defensive side of the NZ. Snap, tweet, yellow hanky in the air. My crew cheif was like, huh??? Again??? I said, nope, offense. He was like, come on boys, learn from the wing guy, he's watching ya!!! Hee hee.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1