The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 30, 2000, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 58
> 4th and 15 from a team's own 5 yard line.
> Punter is in the EZ. Snap comes and the P fumbles the
> catch, the ball drops to the ground, in the EZ.
> [... punter hoofs ball...]Now, the ball hits a member of
>the defence (receiving team if you will) at the 3 yard
> line (by accident - through no purpose of his own),
> then bounces back into the EZ. The P and a member of the
> receiving team both jump on the ball at the same time.

Geeez, you've got a real brain-stumper here!

Dunno how the four-down ruling would go, but my scan on it (being a Canuck) would work on the following principles:

In Canadian ball, a "simultaneous possession" goes to the team that originally had possession. Since the ball did not cross the line of scrimmage, the kicker has not yet surrendered posession (ie: if they could recover the ball, they could opt for a forward pass, etc, etc.)

Therefore, the ball at the end of the play belongs to A - still. However.... since yards were not gained, the ruling would be a safety touch.

(In Canadian ball, B could also opt to scrimmage from the 5 yard line, because the blocked kick went into the enzone on a third [kicking] down.)
__________________
Am I just a three-down ref in a four-down world?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1