The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2004, 06:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
5. A 1/10 @ A-30. A88 is lined up as a split end on the right side. A85 is lined up as tight end on the right side and is "covered up" by A88. A88 steps off the line and establishes himself as a back. A85, who is in a three-point stance, lifts his hand from the ground smoothly and then shifts to the other side of the line. After one second, the ball is snapped and A9 runs to the A-45 where he is tackled by the facemask.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~

6. A 4/10 A4. A is in a punting formation. A6 is near the end line prior to the snap. At the snap, A6 takes steps backward out of bounds. He steps forward and is in bounds when he catches the snap. A6's punt is muffed by B29 and recovered by A68 on the A-37.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~

7. A 4/24 50. While the punt is coming down, B88 legally signals for a fair catch. B88 is contacted by A88 at the B-24. B88 catches the ball on the B-23 and is immediately tackled by A88.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~

8. A Try @ B-3. The score is A10-B10. After a muffed snap on a kick try, A23 tries to run it in. He is hit at the B2 and fumbles. B44 recovers fumble, advances to the 50 and fumbles. A22 recovers the ball at the 50 and advances. Just prior to crossing the goal line A22 taunts an opponent.


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2004, 02:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
NFHS

5- A 1/10 @ B40. The shift by A85 is legal since he is now the end.

6- A 4/12 @ A2. Illegal participation on A6.

7- KCI on A88. DB PF on A88. I'll let you type out the options. I'd probably make A re-kick for the A30, 4/54.

8- The ball is dead and the try is over when B44 recovers.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2004, 03:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
Re: NFHS

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
6- A 4/12 @ A2. Illegal participation on A6.

Wouldn't this foul result in a safety?

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2004, 03:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
Re: NFHS

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef

7- KCI on A88. DB PF on A88. I'll let you type out the options. I'd probably make A re-kick for the A30, 4/54.

good call on the DB PF on A88 . I missed that when I sent my answers to UE. Heres what I have now

7. A 4/24 50. While the punt is coming down, B88 legally signals for a fair catch. B88 is contacted by A88 at the B-24. B88 catches the ball on the B-23 and is immediately tackled by A88.

Kick catch interference. plus a Dead Ball Personal Foul on A88 . R may accept a 15-yard penalty from the previous spot and a replay of the down making it A 4/54 @ A-20 clock on the ready, or accept the penalty of an awarded fair catch at the spot of the foul making it B 1/10 @ B-39 clock on the snap.

[Edited by James Neil on Jan 6th, 2004 at 02:30 AM]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2004, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Here's my shot at 5 - 8...

5. A 1/10 @ A-30. A88 is lined up as a split end on the right side. A85 is lined up as tight end on the right side and is "covered up" by A88. A88 steps off the line and establishes himself as a back. A85, who is in a three-point stance, lifts his hand from the ground smoothly and then shifts to the other side of the line. After one second, the ball is snapped and A9 runs to the A-45 where he is tackled by the facemask.
NF: A88 and A85’s movements are legal. Penalize B’s face mask foul from the end of A9’s run.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~

6. A 4/10 A4. A is in a punting formation. A6 is near the end line prior to the snap. At the snap, A6 takes steps backward out of bounds. He steps forward and is in bounds when he catches the snap. A6's punt is muffed by B29 and recovered by A68 on the A-37.
NF: Technically, illegal participation by A6 (tough call). Occurs during a loose ball play. However, spot of the foul is where he reenters the field and participates (his endzone!) and is behind the basic spot. Accepting the penalty for A’s IP results in a safety. Award B two points and A free kicks from his 20. Result of the play is A, 1-10 @ A’s 37. [I know a number of officials who would recommend ‘passing’ on this call.]
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~

7. A 4/24 50. While the punt is coming down, B88 legally signals for a fair catch. B88 is contacted by A88 at the B-24. B88 catches the ball on the B-23 and is immediately tackled by A88.
NF: Sounds like trying to infer a live ball foul (KCI) followed by a dead ball foul (PF) against A: KCI results in A, 4-39 from A’s 35; then penalize DBF personal foul. A, 4-54 from A’s 20. However, B could decline the penalty for the KCI and take the ball, 1-10 @ B’s 39, penalizing only the DBF. Ooops...I mean B's 38. Addition isn't my strong suit. Not good for a mathematician!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~

8. A Try @ B-3. The score is A10-B10. After a muffed snap on a kick try, A23 tries to run it in. He is hit at the B2 and fumbles. B44 recovers fumble, advances to the 50 and fumbles. A22 recovers the ball at the 50 and advances. Just prior to crossing the goal line A22 taunts an opponent.
NF: The ball is dead when B44 recovers (Federation only). Can’t see how the rest of this play could transpire in a Federation game. In an NCAA game, A wins the game and the penalty for A’s taunting is not enforced. He gets away with a freebie. [Edit: Ooops...screwed this up also. Thought that time expired on the play. Correct NCAA ruling: Award A two points on the successful try. Penalize A 15 yards (USC) on the succeeding kickoff.]

[Edited by Bob M. on Jan 6th, 2004 at 11:04 AM]
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2004, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Re: Re: NFHS

Quote:
Originally posted by James Neil
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
6- A 4/12 @ A2. Illegal participation on A6.

Wouldn't this foul result in a safety?

Yes sir, I believe it would. I missed that.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1