Here's my shot at 5 - 8...
5. A 1/10 @ A-30. A88 is lined up as a split end on the right side. A85 is lined up as tight end on the right side and is "covered up" by A88. A88 steps off the line and establishes himself as a back. A85, who is in a three-point stance, lifts his hand from the ground smoothly and then shifts to the other side of the line. After one second, the ball is snapped and A9 runs to the A-45 where he is tackled by the facemask.
NF: A88 and A85s movements are legal. Penalize Bs face mask foul from the end of A9s run.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~
6. A 4/10 A4. A is in a punting formation. A6 is near the end line prior to the snap. At the snap, A6 takes steps backward out of bounds. He steps forward and is in bounds when he catches the snap. A6's punt is muffed by B29 and recovered by A68 on the A-37.
NF: Technically, illegal participation by A6 (tough call). Occurs during a loose ball play. However, spot of the foul is where he reenters the field and participates (his endzone!) and is behind the basic spot. Accepting the penalty for As IP results in a safety. Award B two points and A free kicks from his 20. Result of the play is A, 1-10 @ As 37. [I know a number of officials who would recommend passing on this call.]
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~
7. A 4/24 50. While the punt is coming down, B88 legally signals for a fair catch. B88 is contacted by A88 at the B-24. B88 catches the ball on the B-23 and is immediately tackled by A88.
NF: Sounds like trying to infer a live ball foul (KCI) followed by a dead ball foul (PF) against A: KCI results in A, 4-39 from As 35; then penalize DBF personal foul. A, 4-54 from As 20. However, B could decline the penalty for the KCI and take the ball, 1-10 @ Bs 39, penalizing only the DBF. Ooops...I mean B's 38. Addition isn't my strong suit. Not good for a mathematician!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~
8. A Try @ B-3. The score is A10-B10. After a muffed snap on a kick try, A23 tries to run it in. He is hit at the B2 and fumbles. B44 recovers fumble, advances to the 50 and fumbles. A22 recovers the ball at the 50 and advances. Just prior to crossing the goal line A22 taunts an opponent.
NF: The ball is dead when B44 recovers (Federation only). Cant see how the rest of this play could transpire in a Federation game. In an NCAA game, A wins the game and the penalty for As taunting is not enforced. He gets away with a freebie. [Edit: Ooops...screwed this up also. Thought that time expired on the play. Correct NCAA ruling: Award A two points on the successful try. Penalize A 15 yards (USC) on the succeeding kickoff.]
[Edited by Bob M. on Jan 6th, 2004 at 11:04 AM]
__________________
Bob M.
|