![]() |
|
|||
|
In my earlier post I quoted from Rule 9,Sec 3,Art 5b. I intentionally omitted the wording which was not pertinent to the play. When you read the whole rule you see there are 3 distinct situations which are exceptions to the clip or block in the back:
1. warding off a blocker, or 2. when attempting to reach a runner, or 3. catch or recover a loose ball which he may legally touch or possess The key word is "or" meaning all three situations require the contact to be above the waist. I do agree if the ball is loose on the ground and in an attempt to recover a player diving for the ball contacts an opponent low I would not flag this but the way the play was worded it appeared to me that there was an intentional use of the hands low to push the opponent away. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|