The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Nov 09, 2003, 08:49am
Official Forum Member

I'm a youth football coach in Illinois, and we operate under the IHSA rules. We've had a couple of controversial rules interpretations in games recently. Since I wanted to make sure that I understood the rulings, I decided to get a rule book and look the rules up myself. I have not been able to find an IHSA rule book (including checking with two friends who are high school coaches), but was able to procure an NFHS rule book. My question is, for any of you that referee high school in Illinois, can you tell my how these rules fit together generally, and is there a way to obtain an IHSA rule book, or does the NFHS cover everything?
Old Sun Nov 09, 2003, 09:29am
Official Forum Member

All states except TX and MA play by NFHS rules. No state, that I'm aware of it, produces their own rule book. So, you can't find an IHSA rule book because it doesn't exist. I'm sure they have a policy handbook but a book with playing rules, no.
Old Sun Nov 09, 2003, 09:49am
Official Forum Member

Illinois High School Association/NFHS

I wondered about that. In the 2003 book that I have, it lists member states, and Illinois is not listed. Anyway, thanks for the info.
Old Sun Nov 09, 2003, 10:27am
Official Forum Member

Odd, because Illinois has a member on the Editorial Commiittee.
Old Sun Nov 09, 2003, 10:28am
Official Forum Member

As an Illinois official, I can tell you that the NFHS rule book is the IHSA rule book.

Carol Stream, Illinois
NFHS
ASA
Old Sun Nov 09, 2003, 11:51am
Official Forum Member

I just noticed the poster said he was a Youth coach.

Back when I did work Youth games, or Pop Warner games or Little League games, those organizations had pages and pages of exceptions to the base rules. The base rules were the NFHS rules.