Fumble Out of End Zone Into Field of Play Resulting in Safety NFHS Rule 8-5-2
Under the current 2025 NFHS Football Rules, when Team A fumbles the ball in its own end zone, then goes forward into the field of play, and Team B bats or muffs the ball out of bounds beyond
the goal line (e.g., at the 1-yard line), the play results in a safety against Team A. This ruling is based on Team A’s original impetus for the ball entering the end zone.
Suggested correction, if a loose ball originating from a fumble by Team A in its own end zone and crossing the goal line in the field of play and is subsequently batted or muffed out of bounds by Team B,
the result is not a safety. In such cases, the ball is declared dead at the spot where it crossed the sideline, and Team A retains possession or Team B possession if 4th down.
|