View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Today, 07:19am
Altor Altor is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by FeetBallRef View Post
I didn't understand the response. The issue as I understand it is that if Team A's QB backs up into his end zone and while attempting a pass, Team B hits his arm and causes the ball to be fumbled out of the end zone into the field of play.
Once in the field of play, if Team B muffs the ball out of bounds, it is a Safety on Team A. OR, if Team B adds new Force to the fumble back across the goal line and Team A recovers the ball, it is a Touchback. This disparity doesn't make sense to me!
There's no disparity. Just follow the rules in the logical order to get the correct ruling.

1. A fumbles and the ball goes forward and out of bounce -> the succeeding spot is the spot of the fumble.
2. The succeeding spot is in the A's EZ -> what was the impetus that put the ball in the end zone before the fumble?
3. The impetus was A running the ball across the goal line. -> safety.

The fact that B muffed or (legally) batted the fumbled ball is immaterial to the questions that need answered.

Last edited by Altor; Today at 07:30am.
Reply With Quote