The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2003, 05:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 107
Oops...

Quote:
Originally posted by simpson
Kickoffs (free kicks) can be recovered by the kicking team if first touched by the receiving team or the ball has traveled 10 yards and has been grounded (in any order.)

High school rules are not available online. You can see the NCAA rules here: http://www.ncaa.org/library/rules/20...ball.rules.pdf

You'll want to read all of rule 6. 6-3 and 6-4 are the parts that pertain specifically to your question.

Also, there was a story on ESPN recently where the NFL blew this call during (I believe) the Colts/Bucs game. The ball wasn't grounded and the officials allowed the kicking team to recover the ball. The story explains the NFL rule.
I believe you mean here:
http://www.ncaa.org/library/rules/20...ball_rules.pdf


Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1