The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Illegal Batting- Safety (https://forum.officiating.com/football/10486-illegal-batting-safety.html)

Tom Hinrichs Mon Oct 20, 2003 08:14am

A's ball 2nd & 5 from the A 5-yard line. A fumbles into A's end zone. During the scramble for the fumble A2 bats the ball out of the end of the end zone.

Flag for illegal batting. This is a safety either way. If B declines the penalty the result of the play is a safety (A forced the ball out if its own end zone)

If B accepts the penalty, the enforcement is from a spot behind the basic spot and in the endzone, resulting in a safety.

Is this correct? Feedback? Should we just signal safety and forget dropping the flag at all?

TXMike Mon Oct 20, 2003 08:23am

You have to flag. What do you do if the if you don't and after the play is over, the BJ comes running up and tells you he has a flag down for illegal participation by Team B? You don't have a flag for the batting so are you now going to throw a late flag and look bad? If you don't then the only foul is on B and there is not going to be a safety now.

LJnkansas Mon Oct 20, 2003 08:32am

hey tom:

my call is safety, and the flag for illegal batting spot of foul is endzone.............
my question is now what happens if the ball is batted by A at the 2 yd line and goes out the back of the endzone:)
sincerely yours, your substitute umpire

Tom Hinrichs Mon Oct 20, 2003 08:56am

New Twist
 
Ed.

If A bats the ball at the 2, B has a choice.

If B declines the penalty, the result of the play is a safety.

If B accepts the penalty, the spot of the foul is behind the basic spot (the previous spot for a loose ball play, which a fumble behind the LOS is). So, if B accepts this penalty, it is A's ball 2nd down from the 1.


mpasenelli Mon Oct 20, 2003 10:54am

In your first scenario, there is a minor difference between the result of the play and the penalty: accepting the penalty might extend the end of the period, where accepting the result of the original play would not.(3-3-3)

Warrenkicker Mon Oct 20, 2003 08:37pm

Re: New Twist
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Tom Hinrichs
Ed.

If A bats the ball at the 2, B has a choice.

If B declines the penalty, the result of the play is a safety.

If B accepts the penalty, the spot of the foul is behind the basic spot (the previous spot for a loose ball play, which a fumble behind the LOS is). So, if B accepts this penalty, it is A's ball 2nd down from the 1.


Nope. A foul during loose-ball play behind the basic spot is enforced from the spot of the foul. For example, holding by A behind the NZ before or during a pass is marked off from spot of foul not LOS.

Tom Hinrichs Tue Oct 21, 2003 07:50am

Exactly
 
That is just what I said.

The ball is snapped from the 5. In This example the spot of the bat is the 2 (behind the basic spot). The penalty is enforced from the 2.

rdfox Tue Oct 21, 2003 09:50am

Under the new NF concept of a live ball foul by the opponents of the scoring team, should this be assessed on the succeeding spot (i.e. the free kick after the safety)?

Tom Hinrichs Tue Oct 21, 2003 10:07am

Not a safety
 
The provisions of 8.2.2- penalizing a foul during a scoring play at the succeeding spot do NOT apply to a safety.

Warrenkicker Tue Oct 21, 2003 06:56pm

Re: Exactly
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Tom Hinrichs
That is just what I said.

The ball is snapped from the 5. In This example the spot of the bat is the 2 (behind the basic spot). The penalty is enforced from the 2.

Sorry, misread your post.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1