The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Punt formation Unbalanced (https://forum.officiating.com/football/104764-punt-formation-unbalanced.html)

Shooter Thu Oct 17, 2019 10:18pm

Punt formation Unbalanced
 
Punt formation #34 is the center, he has three guys to the right and three guys to the left. the three guys to the right motion to the left and now there’s six guys on the left of the center and #34 is at the end of the line. Is #34 eligible to go out and receive a pass in high school? Please include rulebook page number or case book page number thank you

Rich Thu Oct 17, 2019 10:22pm

First off, I'll assume you mean shift and not motion.

You ask for a citation, but let me ask this: Why wouldn't an end, #34, be eligible? He's eligible by position and by number.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Shooter Thu Oct 17, 2019 10:48pm

This might be a little clearer

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=9sv9e8LJFsI

Shooter Thu Oct 17, 2019 11:46pm

Found it...
rule book page 60
7-2-2
article 5 exceptions 1-2

HLin NC Fri Oct 18, 2019 06:25am

Depends on the down and numbers of the other linemen.

Robert Goodman Fri Oct 18, 2019 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shooter (Post 1034944)
Found it...
rule book page 60
7-2-2
article 5 exceptions 1-2

The exceptions (to that provision of the formation requirements) lay out conditions under which the reception would be illegal.

If the exception is not needed by team A to make their formation legal, i.e. the condition in 7-2-2b is satisfied, then the reception is legal.

Middleman Sat Oct 19, 2019 05:59pm

Using your YouTube as THE play you are questioning, #34 catching the pass would have been illegal touching by an ineligible, under NFHS rules. It looked like an A-11 to me, which is now illegal by itself. In the video, #34 takes an initial position in a scrimmage kick formation using the numbering exception. He was ineligible by position (not on the end of the line).

bisonlj Thu Oct 24, 2019 11:11am

The video was a college game which has different rules. This may have been a foul for an illegal formation. We don't see when the U placed his hands on the ball. If it was after the shift this is perfectly legal under NCAA rules. Even if it was an illegal shift I believe he's still an eligible by position and number. I do need to verify that.

From a rule or philosophy standpoint in HS does taking an initial position involve the snapper placing his hand on or near the ball? If not then this would be a foul regardless of when the snapper did that.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1