The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 13, 2003, 08:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 40
A's ball 2nd and five at their 40 yard line. A 22, who has a wide open field, catches a legal forward pass at the 50 yardline. When he is at B's 10 yard line, A 34 blindsides B 76 at B's 30 yard line. I am the umpire trailing the play. I flag A 34. My flag doesn't hit the ground and B 76 retaliates and hits A 34 with a block that knocks him back a few yards. My second flag is in the air and I am yelling for them to stop, which they do. Both realize they have been flagged and trot away from each other.
My thought is offsetting penalties, replay the down. I then thought maybe not. I report to the white hat that I have unsportsmanlike conduct- unnecessary roughness on both players. I asked if we replay the down or mark off both penalities from the spot of the foul which would give A 1st and 10 at B's 30. The WH awards A a TD . He ruled the ball was in the EZ before the fouls, therefore the ball is dead and the penalties offset. Since the UC was initiated by A ,I thought this unfair. Did the WH get it right? This is 9th grade ball , nfhs rules.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1