The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 08, 2018, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
The only reason this is paradoxic is that a series never starts in the middle of a down. It can start only at the beginning of a down, always as 1st. So this is why regardless of what happens to that pass, it's going to be 1st down. Even if it were an illegal forward pass, the "loss of down" would be inconsequential. And all the major codes agree on this.

Also, once K3 has recovered the ball, I don't think there's any sequence of subsequent fouls whose penalty enforcement could possibly restore the previous down. Or is there?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 10, 2018, 11:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
NCAA: everything that happened on the play is legal PROVIDED THAT K3 had not crossed the neutral zone prior to passing the ball. If he had, both he and the ball would have been across the line, making any forward pass (from both behind and beyond) the neutral zone an illegal forward pass (See 7-3-2-e). While it is arguable that this isn't the intent of that rule, we have nothing else to go on. According to what I'm hearing the OP say, K3 never was beyond the NZ, so the pass would have been legal.

The scrimmage kick crossing the NZ breaks the continuity of downs (Rule 6), so any possession of the ball by Team A (after Team B touching) would mean they keep it. The incomplete forward pass only stands to put the ball at the previous spot for the next down.

Good luck explaining it to the Team B coach.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 11, 2018, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
NCAA: everything that happened on the play is legal PROVIDED THAT K3 had not crossed the neutral zone prior to passing the ball. If he had, both he and the ball would have been across the line, making any forward pass (from both behind and beyond) the neutral zone an illegal forward pass (See 7-3-2-e). While it is arguable that this isn't the intent of that rule, we have nothing else to go on.
That's interesting! You're saying that even if the passer and the ball had separately been in advance of the neutral zone some time before the ball was recovered and thrown, it's illegal for him to pass forward?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 11, 2018, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
It is an illegal pass, if ...

Quote:
It is thrown from in or behind the neutral zone after a ball carrier’s entire body and the ball have been beyond the neutral zone.
However, in double checking, I missed the word "carrier." That is defined as:

Quote:
A ball carrier is a runner in possession of a live ball. (2.7.b)
You can't have a ball carrier without the ball AND the player. So now, I think unless the player ran the ball across the line then came back, him being across the line without the ball makes no difference. Amend my first paragraph accordingly.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 11, 2018, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 38
Sorry Texas Aggie, but that is not true. In NCAA, you wouldn't have a forward pass to begin with because the ball is dead as soon as K (or A since NCAA doesn't use K/R) recovers the ball. It has nothing to do with where the ball is recovered, only the fact that the kick crossed the neutral zone. It will be A's ball 1st and 10 at the spot of recovery.
6-3-3
6-3-6-a
And the exact situation described in AR 6-3-1-I
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 21, 2018, 07:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 82
muff

So this is a legal play in High School?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 21, 2018, 08:29am
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
Yes, it's a legal play in FED. 1st and 10 for K at the K-20.

(On another note: the juxtaposition of a thread titled "Muff kick" by a poster named "surehands" made me chuckle).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Muff jeremy24175 Football 11 Wed Sep 05, 2007 04:31pm
NCAA: Illegal kick or muff? DJ_NV Football 4 Mon Sep 11, 2006 03:53pm
Muff Pt. 2 FredFan7 Football 8 Wed Dec 10, 2003 12:16pm
Muff Pt. 1 FredFan7 Football 5 Mon Dec 08, 2003 01:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1