The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Catch or no catch (NFHS) (https://forum.officiating.com/football/103224-catch-no-catch-nfhs.html)

CT1 Wed Dec 13, 2017 07:37am

I can't tell from the video whether the ball broke the GL plane before it came loose. What I *can* tell is that there was a completed pass.

So....if you're the deep wing on that side (or perhaps even the R or BJ), do you go to the covering official and ask him what he saw?

Rich Wed Dec 13, 2017 09:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 1012827)
I can't tell from the video whether the ball broke the GL plane before it came loose. What I *can* tell is that there was a completed pass.

So....if you're the deep wing on that side (or perhaps even the R or BJ), do you go to the covering official and ask him what he saw?

The deep wing is the covering official. GA uses 6 with 2 deep wings.

CT1 Fri Dec 15, 2017 07:20am

OK, my bad.

If you're on that crew & had a good look at the reception, would you go to the covering official and ask him what he saw?

ajmc Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 1012970)
OK, my bad.

If you're on that crew & had a good look at the reception, would you go to the covering official and ask him what he saw?

Only if his conclusion was different than mine, or he hesitated in making a decision or looked for assistance.

Rich Fri Dec 15, 2017 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ajmc (Post 1012987)
Only if his conclusion was different than mine, or he hesitated in making a decision or looked for assistance.



There is nobody else on this crew that has a good enough view to be 100% sure of a catch that can provide enough to overturn this call.

No way I'm coming in from anywhere other than BJ, which in Georgia's infinite wisdom, doesn't exist on this crew.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

9thIsleZebra Wed Dec 27, 2017 05:14am

Looks similar to the Jesse James play. In this play I'd have ruled a TD. Receiver has the ball and reaches for the goal line with ball still in control. There is a question of whether the receiver was not in full control of the ball but it would be difficult to see in real time. Once the ball breaks the goal line plane, anything that happens after that is during a dead ball period.

9thIsleZebra Wed Dec 27, 2017 03:29pm

Might I add too that the pass was completed and that the receiver now becomes a runner who breaks the goal line plane with the ball still in possession. Once the runner breaks that plane, the ball is dead and a TD is scored. If anything, if the covering official ruled that runner did not have complete control of the ball as he broke the plane, then it should have been ruled a fumble and the ruling should have been touchback, team B's ball, 1st and 10 from their 20 yard line.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1