The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 10, 2017, 07:38am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
From that picture -- from that picture-- legal block.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 11, 2017, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 31
A block in the back is defined as a block against an opponent when the initial contact is in the opponent's back, INSIDE THE SHOULDERS and below the helmet and above the waist...

If this is initial contact than it is a legal block.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 11, 2017, 05:11pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
In that moment in time, what would remotely make it a block in the back?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 11, 2017, 05:16pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post
In that moment in time, what would remotely make it a block in the back?


I swear some coaches think any contact not in the front is in the back.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 11, 2017, 11:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
I swear some coaches think any contact not in the front is in the back.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Unfortunately, so do many officials.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 13, 2017, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
That is my point ITS. Most people don't know what the rule says EVEN some officials.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 16, 2017, 10:09am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Argument could be made for IUH given the location of B2's left hand, depending on where it landed.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 17, 2017, 10:27am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
That is my point ITS. Most people don't know what the rule says EVEN some officials.
OK, but the picture does not show anything. The picture shows one moment in time which is not how we make the call for the most part. So if your point is that the officials called a BIB as a result of this one picture, that is not really a very good judge. This is why I asked for several pictures that would show more of the play or the video. It is also a judgment call, which means they might have seen the first level of contact and made a decision.

I called a BIB this weekend after a player had clearly disengaged after first making contact and then pushed the player in the back right when the runner was in the area.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1