The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 30, 2003, 07:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 29
High School - Sub Varsity
I was asked about this one today and am wondering for sure how to rule on it.
A is at thier own 20, 2nd and 5. On a sweep around end about 10 yards downfield B facemasks (5 or 15)and as the play continues downfield A gets hit and fumbles at the 50, and B recovers.
What is the ruling here? Remember A losses the ball after the face mask by B.

Thnaks for your input.
__________________
Ron
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 30, 2003, 07:33pm
KWH KWH is offline
Small Business Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Posts: 520
Post Ruling

Quote:
Originally posted by Ron_B
High School - Sub Varsity
I was asked about this one today and am wondering for sure how to rule on it.
A is at thier own 20, 2nd and 5. On a sweep around end about 10 yards downfield B facemasks (5 or 15)and as the play continues downfield A gets hit and fumbles at the 50, and B recovers.
What is the ruling here? Remember A losses the ball after the face mask by B.

Thnaks for your input.
B did not gain possession of the ball with "Clean Hands"! Therefore, under NFHS rules, B will not be able to keep the football unless for some strange reason A declines the fasemask foul.
So,
We had a B foul during a running play, therefore the basic spot is the end of the run.
1) If the facemask foul is the 15-yard variety, then it will be A's Ball 1st and ten on the B35 after the 15 yard facemask is tacked on to the end of the run.
2) If the facemask foul is the 5-yard variety, then it will be A's Ball 1st and ten on the B45 after the 5 yard facemask is tacked on to the end of the run.

Reference: Rules 5-2-2 and 10-4-4

[Edited by KWH on Sep 30th, 2003 at 07:45 PM]
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 05, 2003, 02:31pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally posted by Ron_B
High School - Sub Varsity
I was asked about this one today and am wondering for sure how to rule on it.
A is at thier own 20, 2nd and 5. On a sweep around end about 10 yards downfield B facemasks (5 or 15)and as the play continues downfield A gets hit and fumbles at the 50, and B recovers.
What is the ruling here? Remember A losses the ball after the face mask by B.

Thnaks for your input.
Here in Canada, we do not have a 5y FM foul, just the 15y kind.

Team A can elect to apply the 15y on point ball dead, or point ball held. If A wants to keep the ball, they can move up 15y from where the ball was when the FM ocurred. Or, they can apply the 15y at the end of the run, pushing B back 15y.

Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1