![]() |
New play posted on the web. It is a very interesting one with a close catch on the sideline. Look at the play and see if you think it was an interception.
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0kkni/footballvideo/ Thanks for all those who participated in the web site and I hope that your season is going great. David |
The player is not OOB when he touches the ball, he controls it, one foot touches inbounds, before falling OOB. Interception, in NF at least. Have no idea about NCAA.
|
Terrible picture. Couldn't see ball, couldn't see sideline.
Bob |
Looks good to me. While the defender did step OOB, he was in the air when he first touched the ball. One foot was down while he had control. Then he lands OOB on his back still in control.
|
Great play - INT
The covering officials appear to have a real good look at it. Not sure what they ruled though. |
Not sure why there's a question. INT all the way. What's the case for a non-catch call?
|
I agree, INT...I believe the point of the video is that the defender stepped OOB...which looks illegal, but as we know only A and K are not allowed to come back in from OOB...
|
Oh, they can come back in, but... :)
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
SDReg - what PSU says is true in NF, NCAA, or NFL. Basketball's interpretation of this is what has skued the perception of the general public. In football, all that matters is where you land.
|
Interception, looks like he has control of it before he touches out of bounds.
|
Just what was the Line judge or the Field judge ruling on the play? (I don't care what the colorful announcers said either).
|
Too much Sunday for you. :)
In NCAA (and NF, I believe), K could be standing in the endzone with his arms outstretched out of the EZ, and stop the ball from entering the EZ - the ball is spotted where the BALL is when it's touched. Where the player is is not relevant. (Yes - NFL has a completely different bunch of rules regarding the endzone that differ from their rules regarding the sideline.) |
looks like an INT to me. Although grainy picture may be hiding something.
|
I sent the play to David...
REPLY: I think we have had enough responses that I don't feel uncomfortable telling you the outcome of the play. David had to cut out the final few seconds of the play in order to post it and make it meaningful. The LJ ruled INCOMPLETE. He gave a pretty weak signal. No real attempt to 'sell' the call. The FJ offered no visible help whatsoever.
|
Interested to find out what the three officials in the clip ruled. The one downfield appears to be somewhat blocked by the two out of bounds players. The L seems to be making a call right away. R seems to be coming up from behind the play as well. Control of the ball with one foot in bounds equals interception doesn't it? Not an NCAA official yet, but this is good practice.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56pm. |