![]() |
|
|||
|
Ineligible Receiver--NFHS
R1 is on the LOS. R2, outside of this one, is also on the LOS. We know R1 cannot go past the LOS and catch a pass. If R1 steps back from the LOS, is there any circumstance when he could legally catch a forward pass behind said LOS?
|
|
|||
|
There is one scenario where R1 can legally catch a pass; if the pass is backward.
My son's HS team runs this formation and 99 times out of 100, it is a run play. However, the QB can check off and R1 moves back behind the LOS to a point the pass will be backward. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush |
|
|||
|
This is the reference Altor previously provided (7-5-6b). It is the only rule that allows for R1 to catch a forward pass if he was not eligible at the snap.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Ineligible Receiver Downfield | Mike246 | Football | 15 | Sat Aug 16, 2014 10:20am |
| Ineligible receiver | FridayKnights | Football | 3 | Wed Nov 05, 2003 04:50pm |
| Eligible or ineligible receiver | Derock1986 | Football | 18 | Thu Dec 05, 2002 03:04am |
| Ineligible Receiver Down Field | MoverF1 | Football | 4 | Fri Sep 27, 2002 05:29pm |