![]() |
Ineligible Receiver--NFHS
R1 is on the LOS. R2, outside of this one, is also on the LOS. We know R1 cannot go past the LOS and catch a pass. If R1 steps back from the LOS, is there any circumstance when he could legally catch a forward pass behind said LOS?
|
Only if he establishes himself as a back before the snap.
As described, he's ineligible by position and he can't catch a forward pass anywhere on the field. |
Thanks for the quick response! Where can I find that in NFHS documentation?
|
He's an interior lineman by position. Rules apply no differently to him than any other lineman. Look at the illegal touching foul/penalty.
|
Quote:
|
There is one scenario where R1 can legally catch a pass; if the pass is backward.
My son's HS team runs this formation and 99 times out of 100, it is a run play. However, the QB can check off and R1 moves back behind the LOS to a point the pass will be backward. |
The question was specifically about a forward pass. And I cited the only rule that would allow him to catch a forward pass after being "covered up."
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35pm. |