The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Player OOB (https://forum.officiating.com/football/101714-player-oob.html)

Suudy Mon Oct 10, 2016 09:37am

Player OOB
 
Related question. I didn't want to start a new thread since it play happened in the WSU/Stanford game last year. But I wanted clarification on the OOB rule for NCAA.

A5 is running down the sideline. He is tackled and the ball comes loose. A5 is OOB while attempting to secure possession and touches the loose ball which is still IB. Is the ball still live?

JRutledge Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:03pm

The ball is considered out of bound the moment the ball is touched by a player out of bounds. So it is dead and the play is over and in possession with the team last in possession. Same rule in HS and college.

Peace

Welpe Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:28pm

Moved this to its own thread because I'd rather keep the topics separate and we don't have enough traffic here as it is.

MTUMP Thu Oct 13, 2016 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 991632)
The ball is considered out of bound the moment the ball is touched by a player out of bounds. So it is dead and the play is over and in possession with the team last in possession. Same rule in HS and college.

Peace

Don't confuse this with a ball in a runner's possession. In this case the runner and/or the ball is not OOB when only touching: A) a player who is OOB, or B) an official that is OOB. 2-29-2.

MD Longhorn Thu Oct 13, 2016 04:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MTUMP (Post 991772)
Don't confuse this with a ball in a runner's possession. In this case the runner and/or the ball is not OOB when only touching: A) a player who is OOB, or B) an official that is OOB. 2-29-2.

Maybe I'm missing your point... but this seems to be a rather bizarre non-sequitur to what we're discussing.

MTUMP Thu Oct 13, 2016 07:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 991796)
Maybe I'm missing your point... but this seems to be a rather bizarre non-sequitur to what we're discussing.

I admit I had to look up non-sequitur, but hopefully it's not that bizarre. I was merely responding to JRut's statement that a ball touched by a player OOB makes the ball dead. I understand that statement is correct if there is a loose ball which is in the thread of this play.

However, I've discovered confusion with new officials coming into our pool, especially those with a basketball officiating backgrounds, that assume any time the ball is touched by someone OOB, the ball is OOB/play is dead. In a different scenario that I suggested- with the ball in player possession that is in bounds- that is not necessarily the case, right? B22, who is OOB, touches ball in Runner A5's possession (who is in bounds)....Play on.

Sorry for the confusing add-on.

MD Longhorn Fri Oct 14, 2016 07:52am

Fair enough... (I would add that Jeff is very much NOT a newby).

Altor Sat Oct 15, 2016 07:43pm

I think both of these points just happened in the Ohio State/Wisconsin game. OSU defender (who I think was OOB while trying to make the tackle) forces a fumble that appears to be picked up by the defense. After review, they determined the loose ball touched the offensive player while he was touching OOB.

MTUMP Mon Oct 17, 2016 05:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 991810)
Fair enough... (I would add that Jeff is very much NOT a newby).

Agreed, I've seen and learned from JRut's knowledge for a long time in various forums....I was referring to our local officials pool in Montana.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1