The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 22, 2003, 07:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally posted by gtw179
Rule 3 Section 6 Art.3 States when a team attempts to conserve or consume time illegally, the referee shall order the clock started or stopped. In this case the Referee would certainly order the clock stopped.
Not sure about NCAA, but for high school rules its even more simple than that: "The clock shall start with the snap...if the clock was stopped because the penalty for a delay of game foul is accepted." (3-4-3i) So if the 25-second count is allowed to expire the referee does not have to invoke 3-6-3 because the clock will not start until the snap anyway. 3-6-3 is designed to handle other situations such as a player who throws an illegal forward pass with the intent of (illegally) conserving time, or a player who holds the tackled runner down in an attempt to consume time.
__________________
If the play is designed to fool someone, make sure you aren't the fool.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1