The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Sep 23, 2015, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member

Here we go again

And now we have another incident in Tennessee of a player hitting an official
Tennessee HS Football Player Suspended After Hitting Referee on Video | Bleacher Report
The golfing volleyball ref and official scorekeeper
Old Wed Sep 23, 2015, 11:13pm
Official Forum Member

I work as an umpire and have been hit by players as well as the ball and never thought it was intentional. This doesn't look intentional to me but, I like what the school and parents are doing. It would be nice to hear input from the official involved.
Old Thu Sep 24, 2015, 12:32am
Never Stop Learning

This looks very intentional and in the article the official does give his input.
Old Thu Sep 24, 2015, 03:26am
Official Forum Member

After reading what the official said, I have changed my mind....

“I think it’s pretty obvious what went down,” Gill said.

Gill said that he had spoken to Easley just prior to the play.

“I had spoken to the player on the play before and he told me that I was in his way,” Gill said. “I asked him how long he’d been playing football and he had to realize that the referees are part of the field. I told him that he should have to avoid me and not the other way around. On the very next play, you saw what happened.”
Old Thu Sep 24, 2015, 07:42am
NFHS Official

Absolutely no doubt this was intentional. The player measures him up and lunges at him. While I don't condone this hit at all, I do have a problem with what the official said. I believe it is our job to try and avoid the players the best we can.
Old Thu Sep 24, 2015, 08:41am
TODO: creative title here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffdweller View Post
After reading what the official said, I have changed my mind....

“I think it’s pretty obvious what went down,” Gill said.