The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 11, 2003, 07:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 260
Question

Rule 6-5-2 states: It is a fair catch and the ball is dead if any receiver gives a valid fair catch signal, as in Article 1, and he catches a free kick in or beyond the neutral zone to R's goal line, or a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone to R's goal line.

Situation: On a scrimmage kick, R1 gives a valid fair catch signal but then actually catches the ball within or behind the neutral zone. Am I correct that R1 is not afforded "fair catch protection" but the ball will be dead when R1 (or any receiver) possesses the ball? Also, since K may catch or recover a scrimmage kick in/behind the neutral zone, there can be no kick catching interference in this situation, correct?

I've heard two different rulings on this. One saying R1 can make a "fair catch" and one saying that there is no "fair catch" on a scrimmage kick within or behind the neutral zone.

Who's right?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1