![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
[/B][/QUOTE]That's my point. We don't know what Damian actually called the 2nd foul-personal or a T. His post never said.How can anyone say that he botched a call without having that information? If he called it a T,then he didn't botch the call. |
|
|||
Quote:
Damian did say "Nother flagrant or really intentional." If contact during a dead ball is not flagrant or intentional, it should be ignored. If it is flagrant or intentional, it becomes a technical foul. If he called a personal, it was incorrect since it was during a dead ball. If he called a technical, it was incorrect because it was neither flagrant nor intentional. |
|
|||
Quote:
We judge the time lapse between the two acts: Either way the offensive player should be punished if the contact was, in fact, sufficient. mick |
|
|||
Quote:
If contact during a dead ball is not flagrant or intentional, it should be ignored. If it is flagrant or intentional, it becomes a technical foul. If he called a personal, it was incorrect since it was during a dead ball. If he called a technical, it was incorrect because it was neither flagrant nor intentional. [/B][/QUOTE]You're right that he shouldn't call a technical foul under the "contact" language in R10-3-9. However,that doesn't mean that he can't call a technical foul in this instance under the provisions of R10-3-8 instead. If Damian felt that A1 committed "an unsporting act",then he has the backing of this rule to call the T. R10-3-8 was specifically written this way("not limited to...") to give an official the power to call a T for any act that he feels is unsporting,and not necessarily then have to label that foul "flagrant or intentional". |
|
|||
Quote:
We judge the time lapse between the two acts: [/B][/QUOTE]Agree with that,mick,but just a quick point,more for the new officials. The time lapse doesn't mean that the 2nd foul HAS to be a technical foul.You can still have a personal foul with the time lapse,to then constitute part of the false double foul. The most common play illustrating a false double foul with 2 personals is A1 shooting a foul shot,and a teammate committing a foul during that FT. The teammate's foul is a personal foul because the ball was alive,but we now have a false double foul because the second foul was committed before the clock started following the first foul. [Edited by Jurassic Referee on Sep 12th, 2003 at 02:18 PM] |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
Sounds like that to me also, Back In The Saddle. B hacks A; A pushes B " Player A1 is dribbling down the court. B1 tries to reach over and swat the ball. He misses and fouls. A1 pushes B1 down just after the initial contact...." If B hacks A, and A reflexively pushes B back, ---> double personal foul. If B hacks A, and A thinks/pauses and then pushes B back ---> personal on B, technical on A Sometimes, if B hacks A, and A steps toward, and makes a little contact on, B ---> "Take it easy fellas." mick |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Quote:
Always gets 'em! ![]()
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Now I can't wait to git a team A. ![]() |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
The implication is that I may use "judgment or judgement" to spell judgment, or judgement, and I need not be from England. Please cite your source of the "American way". ![]() mick |
|
|||
Re: English spelling
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Re: English spelling
Quote:
![]() Honestly, I never knew "judgement" was acceptable. I gotta go do a little checking. . .
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|