![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Why not accept that the ball achieves frontcourt status on the catch and then returns to the backcourt on the landing, but due to the throw-in exception the team does not commit a violation? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
They may clarify but you could argue from that language that when I touch the ball in the air during throw in i have no status and thus the ball has no status….until I land. So clock starts on touching and count continues… BTW-good to be back... |
This
Quote:
|
My .02
I wondered how long it would take for this conversation to take place. And, as I stated at York, there will be a conversation with the men concerning this. Nowhere was it ever stated that the women's committee would be doing anything with this. And I did present the play for discussion and what MAY be the correct answer.
We know that the player who catches the throw-in may land in either the backcourt or frontcourt. NFHS goes so far as to say that this player has no status relative to frontcourt or backcourt status if that player (and only that player) returns to the floor possessing the ball (NFHS 2014-15 Point of Emphasis, page 69). The NCAA books do not specifically make this statement. 9-13.10 does not state that this player does or does not have any status. Just sit tight... But do look at 4-23.2 ;) |
Quote:
I provided the correct understanding in post #17. |
Here's what the Men's side says in regards to player location:
4-23 Art. 2. When a player is in the air from a leap (except during a throw-in) or when a defensive player intercepts a ball while in the air, the player's status with reference to these two situations shall be the same as at the time the player was last in contact with the floor or an extension of the floor, such as a bleacher. Does the Women's rule read the same? |
Yes
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Catches the ball. Has Back Court status Lands in Front Court. Has Front Court status. Touches Back Court. Has Back Court status. VIOLATION:) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
NCAA 4-3-8: Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
during throw in i can catch in air and land first foot in Fc second in BC and it is not a violation. exception to normal BC rules. i get to make natural landing. what we are trying to figure out is does the 10 second count end moment i touch ball in air if i left from FC. under normal rules the ball has FC status. count should end. NCAAm status stuff however says, "except during throw in"... so maybe they subscribe to the theory when you catch ball in air off a throw in you have no status until you land. therefore, count continues on touch and vilation....its been a long day... i do not think they should change status rules further. if player jumps from front court then the ball has FC status and count should end. he can land in BC and not violation cause of the exception. i dont see a reason to change it to "no status." we will see what they come up with... |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54am. |