The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Where is the spot? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99846-where-spot.html)

Rob1968 Wed Jun 03, 2015 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 963313)
Rob:

With regard to the word "old", I resemble that remark. ;)

MTD, Sr.

Same here :)

Adam Wed Jun 03, 2015 01:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 963245)
100% correct, but I've observed very competent, very veteran, officials handling this like a throwin that goes untouched out of bounds, and thus, incorrectly put the ball back in play at the original throwin spot. There may have been a rule, or interpretation, from thirty-five years ago, that drives this myth.

Hey Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.: Is this worth a trip up to your attic library?

Wasn't nearly that long ago. It had been an unannounced change that was reversed, again without announcement, that had put this violation under throw in violations rather than OOB violations.

It was just a few years ago, I remember the discussion here on the board, and I think it was fixed the very next year after we discovered it.

bob jenkins Wed Jun 03, 2015 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by luvhoops (Post 963299)
It tells me "A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court."

And, since the subsequent throw in for this violation goes to the "ball location" ...

BillyMac Wed Jun 03, 2015 05:38pm

Misty Water Colored Memories ...
 
Slightly of topic, but many, many, years ago, if A1 made a throwin that first touched B2, who was out of bounds, the NFHS interpreted this situation as a throwin violation (for having not thrown the ball directly into the court) on A1, and awarded the ball to Team B for a throwin at the original spot.

Coach Bill Wed Jun 03, 2015 11:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 963325)
Slightly of topic, but many, many, years ago, if A1 made a throwin that first touched B2, who was out of bounds, the NFHS interpreted this situation as a throwin violation (for having not thrown the ball directly into the court) on A1, and awarded the ball to Team B for a throwin at the original spot.

I remember from pickup games, that if you tried to save a ball by throwing it off someone out of bounds, it would always start arguments. The opposing team claiming "he was already out". Perhaps that is where it came from.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1