The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 06, 2015, 08:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 187
OOB aside.

The defender did touch the ball before the ball was released from the player, so is that not a violation?

Plus he grabbed the player, is that not a violation?

and doing both while out of bounds, surely if it's not a violation it'd still be a turnover.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Was the ball released yet? Did the player have any part of their person through the boundary plane? (note that the rule doesn't talk about reaching through, just about being through).

Taken literally, this rule could be read to say that it is a violation if A1 is just OOB in the cases presented. However, we know that really isn't the intent...B1 can't get a DOG violation against A by starting the throwin so quick after A1's made basket that A1 might still be OOB due to momentum. A1 gets a pass in those cases. However, when A1 starts defending the throwin, A1 is now subject to the throwin rules.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 06, 2015, 08:53pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by potato View Post
OOB aside.

The defender did touch the ball before the ball was released from the player, so is that not a violation?

Plus he grabbed the player, is that not a violation?

and doing both while out of bounds, surely if it's not a violation it'd still be a turnover.
The other team had the ball, so it can't be a turnover.

If the thrower-in extends the ball inbounds over the boundary plain, it is legal for the defense to touch the ball.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 06, 2015, 09:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by potato View Post
OOB aside.

The defender did touch the ball before the ball was released from the player, so is that not a violation?
No. BNR already addressed this above.
Quote:
Originally Posted by potato View Post
Plus he grabbed the player, is that not a violation?
I don't see any mention of that in the situation. If that were to occur, it would be an intentional foul, not a violation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cleveland Cavaliers refuses to respect the National Anthem jwwashburn Basketball 39 Wed Nov 12, 2014 07:25am
Game 7 Officials - Celtics vs Heat twocentsworth Basketball 13 Mon Jun 11, 2012 05:46pm
Heat/Celtics Game 4 Request bainsey Basketball 23 Wed Jun 06, 2012 09:45pm
Celtics/Sixers Game 7 Scrapper1 Basketball 51 Wed May 30, 2012 03:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1