![]() |
Shooting at the wrong hoop
This happened yesterday to me in an AAU tournament game.
Blue team passes the ball in after a made basket by White. Blue player shoots at the wrong basket and the ball goes in. Now in the confusion the White team takes the ball out of bounds at that basket and passes it in. Players are all confused as to what happened and are standing around without violation. The Blue team steals the ball races up to their correct hoop where we have a White foul on the shot. The white coach is telling me that I have to correct this. I tell him it is not correctable and things have to stand as they are with Blue shot at Whites basket counting for White and the suspequent foul at the other end standing. Should we have blown the whistle after Blue shooting at the wrong hoop and White passing in? |
Don't You Hate It When This Happens ???
Quote:
This (below) may apply to the throwin by White, but it's not a perfect match to the play (above) because of the confusion of Blue shooting at the wrong basket. Unlike my suggestions above, the caseplay includes canceling points, canceling (non-flagrant) fouls, and putting time back on the clock. So, maybe my suggestions (above) are wrong, and maybe there are "do-overs" in basketball: 10.1.8 SITUATION: Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A’s basket. RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situation if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins: (a) charge Team A with an unsporting technical foul; (b) assess a delay-of-game warning for interfering with the ball after a goal; (c) cancel the field goal; (d) cancel any common foul(s) committed and any non-flagrant foul against A2 in the act of shooting; and (e) put “consumed” time back on the clock. COMMENT: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire procedure would be followed except no unsporting team technical foul would be charged. A team technical would be assessed if the team had received a previous delay warning. This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which an official administers the throw-in and a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball. (4-47-3; 7-6-6; 10-1-5d) |
Here's my thought. Blue scores at wrong basket, white gets 2 points. It is now Blues throw in. White grabs the ball and throws it in, interfering with the throw in. Blow the whistle, call a delay of game warning, get the ball and give it to blue.
It was white interfering with the ball that caused the confusion. All of this prevented if they would have let the ball go after they scored... Seems a simple way out under the rules. |
Quote:
The "almost the same" case play says, "This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which an official administers the throw-in and a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball." In this case, a mistake did in fact allow the wrong team to inbound the ball, and this throw-in was not administered by an official. So from a logic standpoint, this process could apply. Then you have to go back up to the front of the case play where it says, "The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situation [I recognize that I'm blurring the lines of 'specific' here] if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins..." So in the OP case, had the opponents not gained control, I think you could at least argue that you get a do over, complete with cancelling fouls and putting consumed time back on and all that. However, in this case, the opponents do gain control, so ultimately I think this is just an officials' error (failed to stop play when they should have and didn't recognize it until it was too late) and we just have to eat it. White gets 2 points for the blue wrong basket, and then after the steal the white foul stands and blue gets free throws at its basket. |
This underscores how important it is to stop the play after the first incorrect basket. Officials should always know when this situation happens.
|
Quote:
Different than perhaps just some verbal direction I'd try to give in the middle of a HS game in February... |
Quote:
You can't say the throw in ended by white ( and thus no delay) because you never had a legal throw in. The ball by rule never became live after the made basket.... The only way the ball becomes live is if it is at the disposal of the player making the throwin. White interferes with the play, Blue can't throw it in, blue can't make the ball live properly. So by letting the play go ( and eating it) you have a whole bunch of nonsense while the ball is dead. ...gotta have a legit throwin here that never happened. I would rather see a whistle here, have the officials sort it out. Even calling it inadvertent gets the game out of a mess. You can stop the game here to make sure the score is correct in the book.. Whatever the reason stop the game and get it back on track... The foul is now a dead ball foul ( foul is a T) and the game has turned into a mess, sorry but I can't buy that we have to let it go... Who will complain if we stop and get it right or approximately right? Who will complain that we let a game turn into a fiasco with a decision that can be supported by rule less than stopping the game for us to get it back? Definitions and knowing when ball becomes live or dead is very important here. |
The OP situation is similar to
"Case Book 5.2.3 SITUATION: A1 completes the throw-in to A2 to begin the secodn half. A2 is confused and dribbles toward the basket Team A used during the first half and dunks the ball into the basket of Team B. RULING: Legal goal. Two points are awarded to Team B. The ball is bounced to a player of Team A out of bounds at the basket of Team B. Team A may put the ball in play from anywhere along the end line as after any score by Team B (earned or awarded)." Notice that the ball being bounced to a player of Team A, indicates that an official has taken control of the ball. In such a case, it is appropriate that the official stop the clock, and verify that the score is correctly credited to Team B, and in so doing, the teams are informed of the correct direction of play. |
Quote:
By the time the foul occurred, though, it was too late. |
Quote:
|
Lucy! You Got Some ‘Splainin’ To Do ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Confucius Says ...
Quote:
Easy to say from the comfort of our chairs in front of a computer monitor, but I'm sure that is was more difficult for the officials that were there in real time. |
Quote:
Knowing how it should have been handled is crucial to learning from it and handling it right next time. We all know there will be a next time. |
Simple ...
Quote:
Every second that the official waits after Blue scores in the wrong basket to sound his whistle further complicates the situation, and makes it increasingly hard for the players to figure it out on their own, and for the official to "correct" with a later whistle. As the official waits, there can be a few more, "What should I have done?", as each "mistake" dominoes into the next "mistake". |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26pm. |