The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Act of Shooting (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99676-act-shooting.html)

Valley Man Tue Apr 14, 2015 07:54am

Act of Shooting
 
A1 is driving for a breakaway layup and is in the act of shooting. Official gives a T to B1. Do you count the basket?

I know we should wait til the bucket is good when giving a T to opposing coach if possible.

ballgame99 Tue Apr 14, 2015 07:59am

Why would you give a T during a live ball? It would need to be intentional or intentional flagrant would it not?

frezer11 Tue Apr 14, 2015 08:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 960863)
Why would you give a T during a live ball? It would need to be intentional or intentional flagrant would it not?

Why couldn't you? You could have a variety of T's live ball (Coach, player taunt, etc.)

Valley Man Tue Apr 14, 2015 08:22am

Geez .. you are like my wife .. answer a question with a question. B1 cursed at official loud enough half the gym heard it. My question comes with the ball still being in A1's hands.

Adam Tue Apr 14, 2015 08:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Valley Man (Post 960867)
Geez .. you are like my wife .. answer a question with a question. B1 cursed at official loud enough half the gym heard it. My question comes with the ball still being in A1's hands.

The act of shooting started prior to the foul, count the basket.

JRutledge Tue Apr 14, 2015 08:37am

Wait until the basket is made and then call the T, unless the T is on the team with the ball. Problem solved.

There is interpretations precedent for doing just what I suggested.

Peace

PG_Ref Tue Apr 14, 2015 08:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Valley Man (Post 960867)
Geez .. you are like my wife .. answer a question with a question. B1 cursed at official loud enough half the gym heard it. My question comes with the ball still being in A1's hands.

Sometimes, getting the correct answer requires more information. That was more than likely why the poster asked more questions.

Adam Tue Apr 14, 2015 09:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 960869)
Wait until the basket is made and then call the T, unless the T is on the team with the ball. Problem solved.

There is interpretations precedent for doing just what I suggested.

Peace

There's no problem to solve. Once the shooting motion has begun, the basket counts anyway.

I might wait until the shot is in the air, though.

Adam Tue Apr 14, 2015 09:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 960870)
Sometimes, getting the correct answer requires more information. That was more than likely why the poster asked more questions.

Maybe, but the OP didn't require any more information, and that follow up question was wrong.

PG_Ref Tue Apr 14, 2015 09:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 960873)
Maybe, but the OP didn't require any more information, and that follow up question was wrong.

True ...but I'm guessing that's probably why the follow up. Correct, once the act of shooting begins, A1 is allowed to continue. It's just that I've seen where newer officials get confused, for some reason, and kick it.

bob jenkins Tue Apr 14, 2015 09:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 960863)
Why would you give a T during a live ball? It would need to be intentional or intentional flagrant would it not?

I can guarantee that it could NOT be "intentional flagrant."

Raymond Tue Apr 14, 2015 09:24am

You are like my ex-wife, lazily leaving out pertinent information...LOL

Adam Tue Apr 14, 2015 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 960876)
You are like my ex-wife, lazily leaving out pertinent information...LOL

What did he leave out that was relevant?

Valley Man Tue Apr 14, 2015 09:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 960876)
You are like my ex-wife, lazily leaving out pertinent information...LOL

Too funny … although was it really pertinent? The official gave the T immediately on B while A was in the shooting motion.

As I said .. I know you would like to be able to wait til the hoop is scored. I guess it is now for me "wait until the shooting act has started":D

Raymond Tue Apr 14, 2015 09:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 960877)
What did he leave out that was relevant?

B1 implies the primary defender, so it is not a stretch to ask the question ballgame did (even if he screwed up the terminology). If an official does not know that a basket is good in this situation, then it is not implausible that the official doesn't know the difference between a flagrant foul and a technical foul. Once A1 is in his shooting motion, why would ANY foul by the defense negate the basket?

Valley Man Tue Apr 14, 2015 09:35am

Good point .. my case book writing needs some work:p

I have always heard to wait for the bucket before you stick a coach or I guess even a player so as not to take away the scoring opportunity.

Raymond Tue Apr 14, 2015 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Valley Man (Post 960878)
Too funny … although was it really pertinent? The official gave the T immediately on B while A was in the shooting motion.

As I said .. I know you would like to be able to wait til the hoop is scored. I guess it is now for me "wait until the shooting act has started":D

Once A1 has started his shooting motion, nothing that is called against the defense can negate the made basket. So there is really no harm in whistling the T immediately.

What you are thinking about is a situation where Team A is still dribbling or passing during an uncontested fast break, and anyone on Team B does something to earn a Technical foul. In that case, you would let the play finish, then assess the T.

Valley Man Tue Apr 14, 2015 09:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 960882)
Once A1 has started his shooting motion, nothing that is called against the defense can negate the made basket. So there is really no harm in whistling the T immediately.

What you are thinking about is a situation where Team A is still dribbling or passing during an uncontested fast break, and anyone on Team B does something to earn a Technical foul. In that case, you would let the play finish, then assess the T.

Awesome .. thanks

Rob1968 Tue Apr 14, 2015 09:47am

2013-14 NFHS Case Book

10.4.1 SITUATION F: A1 is driving toward the basket for an apparent goal when the official, while trailing the play advancing in the direction in which the ball is being advanced, is cursed by the head coach or bench personnel of Team B. How should the official handle this situation?

RULING: The official shall withhold blowing the whistle until A1 has either made or missed the shot. The official shall then sound the whistle and assess the Team B coach or bench personnel with a technical foul.

wyo96 Tue Apr 14, 2015 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 960884)
2013-14 NFHS Case Book



RULING: The official shall withhold blowing the whistle until A1 has either made or missed the shot. The official shall then sound the whistle and assess the Team B coach or bench personnel with a technical foul.

Is it fair to assume you would not allow the quick put back by A2 to score since the Ruling says "A1"? Or would you make some allowance for a quick rebound??

Adam Tue Apr 14, 2015 11:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wyo96 (Post 960889)
Is it fair to assume you would not allow the quick put back by A2 to score since the Ruling says "A1"? Or would you make some allowance for a quick rebound??

If there are no B players in the vicinity, I might allow the put back, but it could be persuasively argued that one free shot is enough in this case. If B misses the gimme, that's on them.

If there are any defenders in the area, I'm not allowing a rebound and I'm going to hit the whistle once the shot is in the air.

Rob1968 Tue Apr 14, 2015 11:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wyo96 (Post 960889)
Is it fair to assume you would not allow the quick put back by A2 to score since the Ruling says "A1"? Or would you make some allowance for a quick rebound??

The intent of the Case Book RULING is to allow the immediate play to be completed. With that in mind, once the initial shot is "either made or missed" the whistle is to be sounded, and the T assessed. A successful shot, or a rebound secured by any player marks the end of that immediate play.
If the Team A player is unable to make the shot, oh well, we gave him/her the opportunity to complete the play . . .

The RULING is similar to a play in which a player from B steps OOB, when A1 is about to attempt an uncontested shot, as noted in CASE Book 9.3.3 Situation D, in hopes that the official will whistle the play dead, before the shot is taken.

Valley Man Tue Apr 14, 2015 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 960892)
If there are any defenders in the area, I'm not allowing a rebound and I'm going to hit the whistle once the shot is in the air.

I agree with this from the get go. I notice the "once the shot is in the air". I can see where my "confusion" set in now. I have never heard .. "I am going to wait until the act of shooting has begun to whistle the T"

JRutledge Tue Apr 14, 2015 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 960872)
There's no problem to solve. Once the shooting motion has begun, the basket counts anyway.

I might wait until the shot is in the air, though.

My simple point is to wait until the basket is completed just like the casebook states. Then you do not have to worry about if the basket counts or not. That is if of course you are thinking on your feet.

Peace

Nevadaref Tue Apr 14, 2015 09:43pm

Per the language contained in the definition of continuous motion, it only applies to an opposing PLAYER committing a foul, not a coach or member of bench personnel. That is the reason for the withheld whistle in the Case Book play. If the technical foul is earned by a player on the court, it should be whistled immediately and the try counts if the act of shooting had begun.

AremRed Wed Apr 15, 2015 09:56pm

Did a men's league game last month where a player mouthed off to me when the opposing team was starting to fast break. I waited about 5 seconds until the other team scored, then called the tech. Two points for the layup, two shots, and the ball. Boom.

Rob1968 Wed Apr 15, 2015 11:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 960995)
Did a men's league game last month where a player mouthed off to me when the opposing team was starting to fast break. I waited about 5 seconds until the other team scored, then called the tech. Two points for the layup, two shots, and the ball. Boom.

Well done!

Nevadaref Thu Apr 16, 2015 01:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 960995)
Did a men's league game last month where a player mouthed off to me when the opposing team was starting to fast break. I waited about 5 seconds until the other team scored, then called the tech. Two points for the layup, two shots, and the ball. Boom.

You unfairly excessively punished this act. The withheld whistle is only for bench personnel and coaches, not players.

10.4.1 SITUATION F: A1 is driving toward the basket for an apparent goal when the official, while trailing the play advancing in the direction in which the ball is being advanced, is cursed by the head coach or bench personnel of Team B. How should the official handle this situation? RULING: The official shall withhold blow- ing the whistle until A1 has either made or missed the shot. The official shall then sound the whistle and assess the Team B head coach or bench personnel with a technical foul. If the official judges the act to be flagrant, the offender shall be ejected. If A’s coach or bench personnel was the offender, the whistle shall be sounded immediately when the unsporting act occurs. (10-4-1a)

Camron Rust Thu Apr 16, 2015 01:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 961008)
You unfairly excessively punished this act. The withheld whistle is only for bench personnel and coaches, not players.

10.4.1 SITUATION F: A1 is driving toward the basket for an apparent goal when the official, while trailing the play advancing in the direction in which the ball is being advanced, is cursed by the head coach or bench personnel of Team B. How should the official handle this situation? RULING: The official shall withhold blow- ing the whistle until A1 has either made or missed the shot. The official shall then sound the whistle and assess the Team B head coach or bench personnel with a technical foul. If the official judges the act to be flagrant, the offender shall be ejected. If A’s coach or bench personnel was the offender, the whistle shall be sounded immediately when the unsporting act occurs. (10-4-1a)

That case does not necessarily support your conclusion.

It gives an example of how to handle a situation where the offense is committed by a coach or bench personnel. However, it does not preclude handling players in the same manner. It is silent on that point. It could even be interpreted to be the opposite of your conclusion in the name of consistency.

Nevadaref Thu Apr 16, 2015 03:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 961009)
That case does not necessarily support your conclusion.

It gives an example of how to handle a situation where the offense is committed by a coach or bench personnel. However, it does not preclude handling players in the same manner. It is silent on that point. It could even be interpreted to be the opposite of your conclusion in the name of consistency.

The following play ruling is very clear and the one that I posted above is the only specific exception of which I am aware.

6.7 SITUATION C: Under what circumstances does the ball remain live when a foul occurs just prior to the ball being in flight during a try or tap? RULING: The ball would ordinarily become dead at once, but it remains live if the foul is by the defense, and this foul occurs after A1 has started the try or tap for goal and time does not expire before the ball is in flight. The foul by the defense may be either personal or technical and the exception to the rule applies to field goal tries and taps and free-throw tries. (4-11; 4-41-1)

Adam Thu Apr 16, 2015 09:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 961010)
The following play ruling is very clear and the one that I posted above is the only specific exception of which I am aware.

6.7 SITUATION C: Under what circumstances does the ball remain live when a foul occurs just prior to the ball being in flight during a try or tap? RULING: The ball would ordinarily become dead at once, but it remains live if the foul is by the defense, and this foul occurs after A1 has started the try or tap for goal and time does not expire before the ball is in flight. The foul by the defense may be either personal or technical and the exception to the rule applies to field goal tries and taps and free-throw tries. (4-11; 4-41-1)

Nowhere does this specify a player: the fact that it just says "defense" implies, to many of us, that it would apply to a coach from the defensive team as well.

It's certainly arguable, but it's far from "clear."

AremRed Thu Apr 16, 2015 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 961008)
You unfairly excessively punished this act.

I know, that's why I did it. :cool:

jeremy341a Thu Apr 16, 2015 02:52pm

If he called it earlier would he have been providing the defense with an advantage not intended by rule?

Rich1 Thu Apr 16, 2015 05:59pm

I agree with Nevada on this one. If A1 is dribbling down the court then I blow the whistle when it happens. If A1 is very close to beginning a shooting motion I would delay. This applies to on court players only. I will always delay and see the play through if its from the bench.

And I don't agrse that you are giving the defense an advantage not intended by rule because they get two shots and the ball to make up for it. Advantage offense.

Nevadaref Thu Apr 16, 2015 08:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 961017)
Nowhere does this specify a player: the fact that it just says "defense" implies, to many of us, that it would apply to a coach from the defensive team as well.

It's certainly arguable, but it's far from "clear."

Uh, that was my point. You have quoted the wrong case play. The continuous motion rule applies to all defensive fouls whether personal or technical. That ruling clearly states that the ball becomes dead unless the act of shooting has already begun.

Camron Rust Fri Apr 17, 2015 02:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 961034)
Uh, that was my point. You have quoted the wrong case play. The continuous motion rule applies to all defensive fouls whether personal or technical. That ruling clear states that the ball becomes dead unless the act of shooting has already begun.

Yet, why would there be a case that applies to anyone which says to wait until after the shot when there is an obvious scoring opportunity for the other team? Why do we penalize a team more harshly for an infraction by bench personnel than a player who commits the same infraction?

Adam Fri Apr 17, 2015 10:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 961034)
Uh, that was my point. You have quoted the wrong case play. The continuous motion rule applies to all defensive fouls whether personal or technical. That ruling clearly states that the ball becomes dead unless the act of shooting has already begun.

Yeah, I misunderstood what you were saying. I thought you were saying the continuous motion exception only applied on a foul committed by a player, and not a technical committed by someone on the bench.

Nevadaref Fri Apr 17, 2015 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 961044)
Yeah, I misunderstood what you were saying. I thought you were saying the continuous motion exception only applied on a foul committed by a player, and not a technical committed by someone on the bench.

Actually, that is true too.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1