The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   The 9-step pivot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99665-9-step-pivot.html)

Camron Rust Tue Apr 14, 2015 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 960907)
That's not necessarily true. Say a player stumbles then lunges and barely touches the ball with both hands, that would end the dribble but there could be a loss of control.

The point in my post ('unless they lose player control") to which he responded covered that possibility. Loss of control would always end any possibility of a travel. But, I think, that in most cases, control is not lost between the end of the dribble and what immediately follows.

Camron Rust Tue Apr 14, 2015 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 960896)
Yep, and just fleshing this out a bit.

The point at which you would call a double dribble if the player proceeds to dribble is the point at which you should consider the ball to be "held" for purposes of pivot foot establishment.

Or a carry....since a carry is just the ending of one dribble by allowing the ball to come to rest in a hand (holding it) and the immediate start of another dribble.

Remember that double (illegal) dribble and carry were once, not all that long ago, the same violation. They only split out carry to improve the communication of what happened. They did not a change the rules of what was or was not legal.

Rich Tue Apr 14, 2015 01:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 960888)
And, according to the actual dribble/travel rules, there is no such thing as "gather". When the ball comes to rest in a hand to end the dribble, it is being held. There is no mystical 3rd status between dribbling and holding unless they lose player control. It doesn't require that they squeeze it between two hands and pull it in to some magic spot. Gather may be a valid NBA term but it doesn't exist at other levels and applying it to them is not currently supported by the rules.


Perhaps not, but that concept is used on courts at lower levels all across the country.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Camron Rust Tue Apr 14, 2015 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 960912)
Perhaps not, but that concept is used on courts at lower levels all across the country.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I've seen plenty of officials call reaching fouls, over the back, and illegal dribbles for a high dribble, too. That doesn't make it correct.

It may not be the biggest issue on the table but don't you think the rules makers would just change the rule or make even ONE statement to that effect if that is really how they wanted it called?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1