The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Inbounding Ball Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99623-inbounding-ball-question.html)

starmanhoops Thu Apr 02, 2015 09:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BatteryPowered (Post 959868)
Just curious, from what other location can an throw-in start? :D

Just picking a nit...

Hey Battery, I did a H.S. game where the "throw in" was from inbounds. The wall was nearly the out of bounds line so there was a dotted line area to inbound the ball that the defense had to stand behind and the inbounder was inbounds. Other than that...I'm thinking you are probably right. :p

Raymond Fri Apr 03, 2015 07:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by starmanhoops (Post 960047)
Hey Battery, I did a H.S. game where the "throw in" was from inbounds. The wall was nearly the out of bounds line so there was a dotted line area to inbound the ball that the defense had to stand behind and the inbounder was inbounds. Other than that...I'm thinking you are probably right. :p

You live in Connecticut?

Rob1968 Fri Apr 03, 2015 09:34am

1988 . . . throw-in count ends on release of ball . . . reference: 2012-14 NFHS Basketball Handbook Part One, p. 16

Adam Fri Apr 03, 2015 09:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by starmanhoops (Post 959830)
I can't find this in the rule book... Inbounding from out of bounds a player has 5 seconds to release the ball from out of bounds onto the court...correct?
At this point the rule is satisfied...correct? There is no requirement for anyone to touch it within the 5 second count..right? Which is why it's legal to roll it in and nobody sometimes touches it for 7-10 seconds. So if it is in the backcourt
the 10 second count also starts when there is a touch on the court and not before? The game clock always starts on the touch inbounds. All accurate?

Not quite. The 10 second backcourt count starts when player/team control is established in bounds in the backcourt. IOW, the player has to do more than touch it. (NFHS, I believe that's different in the NCAA)

Adam Fri Apr 03, 2015 09:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by starmanhoops (Post 960047)
Hey Battery, I did a H.S. game where the "throw in" was from inbounds. The wall was nearly the out of bounds line so there was a dotted line area to inbound the ball that the defense had to stand behind and the inbounder was inbounds. Other than that...I'm thinking you are probably right. :p

In that case, the OOB line has temporarily moved. The T-I is still out of bounds, though.

Nevadaref Fri Apr 03, 2015 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 960058)
Not quite. The 10 second backcourt count starts when player/team control is established in bounds in the backcourt. IOW, the player has to do more than touch it. (NFHS, I believe that's different in the NCAA)

Did you read the posts above before writing yours?

Adam Fri Apr 03, 2015 03:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 960075)
Did you read the posts above before writing yours?

I think it's obvious I didn't. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1