jpgc99 |
Tue Mar 31, 2015 07:39pm |
This horse is about dead, but I want to make sure the crew doesn't get stuck underneath the horse at it falls. There are a few things in the video that got brushed aside in the unfortunate path the thread took. First, to be clear: If a timeout was request prior to time expiring, the officials must absolutely enforce the rules.
I believe the new L recognized the request and was going to penalize the team appropriately. Watch his actions. He has his hand raised and is stopping the clock around the .4 mark. The C emphatically comes in waving off the shot, but he goes immediately to the new T. Watch the game clock from the endline view. It does in fact pause at .8.
I would venture to guess that during the discussion the C said he had information that the clock stopped inappropriately. The question then becomes whether or not the time out request occurred before time expired or after. Although video clearly shows that the request came before time expired, I do not think it unreasonable to believe the official did not see the request until very near the horn sounding. With the additional information - and definite knowledge - that the clock stopped at .8, I think they decided to rule that the request came after the expiration of time.
Video proves this to be wrong, but I don't think the crew deserves to be lumped into the camp that believes this request should be ignored. The clock operator threw a wrench into the situation. The C had excellent clock awareness; the T was probably too tunnel visioned, but I do think he eventually recognized the time out request and was going to respond in accordance to the rule. It was just the perfect storm that led to a miss. But the crew shouldn't be penalized for mutant's activist take on the rules.
|