![]() |
Ohio State vs VCU (Video 3/3)
Charge and Block calls on consecutive possessions by Ohio State. Between 6-5 minute mark.
|
Vacuum Ohio state offensive flagrant 1 after review.
5 minutes left in the game defender takes an elbow to the head trying to block a shot. No call at the time but play was stopped for a TO and he was bleeding a lot. Can you all walk me through the administration including differences in college from HS in regards to substitutions with injury, flagrant fouls, etc.
|
I agree, lots of good plays in the 6-4 minute range. Three block/charge plays, an elbow play, and some smart commentary from Dan Bonner. He explained the LGP rule pretty accurately.
|
Quote:
If you call an INT or Flagrant then you have to deal with the blood before the free throws. The coach can either take a timeout to keep his player in the game to shoot the free throws, or select a sub from the bench who will shoot the free throws. Same is true if you don't call anything and then notice the blood -- timeout to keep the player in the game or immediate sub. |
Quote:
Provided there was an INT foul called on the floor in HS, I think (sadly, but factually) you'd have to count the basket before marching to the other end to shoot the INT foul FTs. Not an issue in NCAAM because a foul by an airborne shooter can never be a PC foul; score the basket regardless. But what about NCAAW? Do you treat a FF1 on this play the same way you do an INT in HS, i.e. the basket is good even though had it been a PC foul it wouldn't have been? |
Brain Fart
Quote:
Now had the ball entered the basket first somehow, and then the foul by the airborne shooter, now what do you have under the various rule sets? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Fj8cjDrC8xc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> Quote:
|
Quote:
|
#1...Block. It was very close and I wouldn't complain either way. I think the defender was still moving laterally into the path after the shooter left the floor.
#2...Block. Defender was moving towards the opponent at the time of contact. But, again, this was close. He wasn't moving forward much, but he was moving forward. |
#1) Beautiful mechanics and patience by the officials involved. PC was the right call.
#2) Good movement by the Lead to see the play. 50/50 #3) I could be talked into a FF1 upon review. Or live with the no-call. |
Quote:
Under NFHS rules a player control foul MUST be a common foul. An intentional personal foul is not a common foul. Therefore, if the try is already released at the time of the intentional foul by the airborne shooter, then the basket would count. |
Quote:
One point 3, the officials went to review and assessed a FF1 |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Both plays were very close and hard to argue either way. My initial thought in real time though, was that I'd have had them flipped. The first one looked like a block to me as the defender moved into the airborn shooter. The second one looked like a charge as the defender established LGP.
Good mechanics by the officials in both though, especially on the first play double whistle. I also bet that had the first call been a block, the official would have gone PC on the second. I think the officials recognized both plays as 50/50 calls and was aware enough to avoid doubling up on back to back 50/50 calls. On the 3rd one, the official obviously saw the play well enough to not penalize the defense. I'm guessing that he saw some of the push off by the offensive player, but didn't realize how severe the contact was at the time. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
In real time my gut reaction was PC for 1 and 2.
Upon review and from multiple angles I could see why people could say block on #1. Depending on whether the 2nd step sideways to narrow his stance you consider him finalizing getting position or adjusting the position he already possesses. I still think #2 is a PC. Contact happens before dribbler becomes a shooter so has no expectation of time and space and hits defense with feet on the ground. Didn't see anything in real time for #3 so i could live with no call. Review got it right for #3. |
How would the penalty be enforced had the shot gone in on the play with the FF1? Does it nullify the basket?
When they went with the FF1 after review, did they resume play from the spot of the foul or from where the coach requested the timeout? Not the greatest with rule 11. |
I think PC on both, however both are really close.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00pm. |